Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

2005 suddenly won't make more than 700# of HPOP

1K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  Fiberguy1911 
#1 ·
Hey everyone. My 05 f550 all of a sudden started making black smoke lost power. Starts and idles but won't make more than 700# of HPOP. Ipr pins at 84% off idle. Limping to a dealer tomorrow since I'm on the road working the truck. What's the consensus?

#3 · (Edited)
I don't have access to air to test and no time to pull the ipr. I'm still new at this but seems weird that it happened kind of out of nowhere while driving. She started right back up after I shut it down the day it happened and the ect eot was in the 190's so no hot start problem. Is the black smoke a separate issue or will high pressure oil failure do this too? Seems to me that might be a little head gaskety letting compression by enough to restrict ignition....

#4 ·
So trucks been sitting since friday. Drove it to dealership and it ran like a top. I explained when it was hot it wouldn't build any oil pressure and the IPR was pinned at 85 percent. They found a rusty
fuel filter. So they changed the fuel filter and did NOTHING to the HPOP system. Now my question is if headgaskets are bad, which my are definitely on the way out would this create these symptoms?

#5 ·
I think you possibly had debris sticking the IPR wide open. Something goes through the screen or a piece of the screen itself went in there and somehow worked its way out. Leaky head gaskets will not cause it.

#6 ·
Picked the truck up after the dealer closed. I left the lot and got 10 miles down the interstate and lost power. Truck will start after a long crank. According to my scanner appears to be making between 800 and 1000 pounds of oil pressure but just doesn't want to start. They charged me close to 400 dollars to figure out I was due for fuel filters.
I'm pretty frustrated.

#8 ·