upfitter switch - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Powerstroke Interior Discussion This Section is for interior discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2011, 08:33 AM
MARSOC > Seals



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Solsberry, IN
Posts: 7,014
Thanks: 3
Thanked 56 Times in 39 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question upfitter switch

Has anyone/can it be done:

install a upfitter switch in a 03-04 Superduty/Excursion?

I'm not really too worried about the tow command... It would be neat to install that also... but just really wanna try to put the upfitter switches in....

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hadley, Michigan/Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,071
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to thesmokinstroke02
hm could be interesting..... subscribing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ludlow MA
Posts: 922
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to mustangman02232 Send a message via Yahoo to mustangman02232
I believe it can be done, and the wires are all ready there, I just baught some $3 switchs and some $5 switch plate covers off a peterbilt offline and put them in

total cost was like $30


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:47 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,018
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
It can be done Ryan.

But it wont be as easy as it is on an 05 up. You need an 05 SD lower dash panel.

You need a keyed 50 amp power source. Thats it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:52 AM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,498
Thanks: 5
Thanked 99 Times in 94 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
It can be done Ryan.

But it wont be as easy as it is on an 05 up. You need an 05 SD lower dash panel.

You need a keyed 50 amp power source. Thats it
Will the lower dash panel bolt right in? I thought they were made differently.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-08-2011, 09:54 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,018
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
There will be a bit of a gap between the lower and upper unless you replace the upper too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-08-2011, 04:52 PM
MARSOC > Seals



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Solsberry, IN
Posts: 7,014
Thanks: 3
Thanked 56 Times in 39 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
It can be done Ryan.

But it wont be as easy as it is on an 05 up. You need an 05 SD lower dash panel.

You need a keyed 50 amp power source. Thats it
What do you mean by keyed?

So... wiring up the upfitter switch and tow commnad won't be to hard to do?
(sorry haven't really looked into it yet)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-08-2011, 04:53 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,498
Thanks: 5
Thanked 99 Times in 94 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by najaf4life View Post
What do you mean by keyed?

So... wiring up the upfitter switch and tow commnad won't be to hard to do?
(sorry haven't really looked into it yet)
Have to wire it so the switches have power when key is turned on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-08-2011, 04:54 PM
MARSOC > Seals



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Solsberry, IN
Posts: 7,014
Thanks: 3
Thanked 56 Times in 39 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanna6powerstroke View Post
Have to wire it so the switches have power when key is turned on.



Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-08-2011, 04:55 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,018
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Wont be able to do tow command on an 04 or older or an ex.

Tow command requires a different master cylinder to work correctly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors