SCT touchscreen mounting options?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Powerstroke Interior Discussion This Section is for interior discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2011, 04:18 PM
BurninRubber&BlowinSmoke
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sand Springs, Ok
Posts: 398
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
SCT touchscreen mounting options??

Has anyone tried to or know of a way to mount a SCT touchscreen tuner in the "mini-glovebox" (the storage comp just below the aux switches and trailer brake). I saw that there was a company making these types of mounts for the 6.4s that replaces the fold down cup holders. But havent found anything on the 6.0s yet. Let me know. I may just try to custom make one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-16-2011, 01:47 PM
BurninRubber&BlowinSmoke
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sand Springs, Ok
Posts: 398
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Bump! No one??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-18-2011, 09:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I thought that maybe a nice cutout on the bezel to the right side of the steering column would look nice if planned nicely. Not sure if its enough space though...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-19-2011, 04:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I used the mini glovebox to mount my Sirius radio. Screwed the mounting bracket to the top of the mini glovebox, drilled a small hole in the back of the mini for wires. Not a perfect fit but better than the factory options and the wires are hidden. Would not know why it wouldn't work for the CTS. I have the same one, but am currently using the windshield mount. Not crazy about edges dash mount, looks like they cobbed a bracket to mount to the CT dash mount.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-20-2011, 07:11 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have my CTS in the drivers glove box. I brought the wire in from the back. The wire is zip tied and the CTS just sits on the wire. Fits perfectly, and when closed can't be seen. It is easy to see while driving. Can post pics if needed. Let me know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-21-2011, 01:15 PM
BurninRubber&BlowinSmoke
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sand Springs, Ok
Posts: 398
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwimGreg View Post
I have my CTS in the drivers glove box. I brought the wire in from the back. The wire is zip tied and the CTS just sits on the wire. Fits perfectly, and when closed can't be seen. It is easy to see while driving. Can post pics if needed. Let me know.
definitely post some pics!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:54 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here you go!







Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-22-2011, 06:18 AM
BurninRubber&BlowinSmoke
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Sand Springs, Ok
Posts: 398
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwimGreg View Post

looks good! is it just pinched in there between the wire and plastic? or is it mounted up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-25-2011, 04:40 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is just sitting on the cord. I have the cord zip tied, so the cord holds it in place. It does not slide back and forth. It is surprisingly stable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
6.0, mounting, options, sct, touchscreen

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors