Where is everyone mounting their Edge Insight CTS monitors? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Powerstroke Interior Discussion This Section is for interior discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaumont Texas
Posts: 4,096
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Where is everyone mounting their Edge Insight CTS monitors?

Think I'm gonna go ahead and order the Insight CTS for my truck. I'll probably do the A-pillar mount, but curious to see where everyone else is mounting theirs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I mounted mine with the suction cup all the way at the top of the windshield tuck in as much as I can in the corner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaumont Texas
Posts: 4,096
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Is it visible from the outside of the truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:40 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxFireman1972 View Post
Is it visible from the outside of the truck?
It looks like the top of your windshield is tinted and your side windows are tinted, you won't see it from the outside. Mine you can see the suction cup looking at windshield because my windshield isn't tinted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Somewhere unknown, even to me
Posts: 720
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Got mine mounted in the driver "glove box" by my right knee. You cant see it from outside the truck so nobody thinks it a gps to steal...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaumont Texas
Posts: 4,096
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rentstdi View Post
Got mine mounted in the driver "glove box" by my right knee. You cant see it from outside the truck so nobody thinks it a gps to steal...
Yeah I thought about that too. Just wondered how hard it would be to read down there. Really would like to see someone that has it mounted on the A-pillar.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-08-2011, 03:27 PM
N.S.D.Q.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,706
Thanks: 5
Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I don't recall an A-pillar mount for the CTS. I used the window mount as well towards the bottom corner. It's easy to pull out for updates. The cables are hidden and looks more like a GPS where mounted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-08-2011, 03:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaumont Texas
Posts: 4,096
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Im assuming you could buy the autometer 13001 or edge 18401 pillar pod:


and then use the CTS adapter:

Edge Products| Product



I ordered those parts yesterday so we'll see. lol

Last edited by TxFireman1972; 06-21-2011 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-11-2011, 04:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaumont Texas
Posts: 4,096
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
ok I ordered the two pieces above. Got them in today. Here are the instructions for the adapter:





Basically the adapter attaches to the back of the CTS and the the adapter snaps into the regular insight pod.

Here is the pod in the truck:





Here is the adapter snapped in the pod:









Now I guess I just need to get a CTS to see if it works lol.

Last edited by TxFireman1972; 04-11-2011 at 06:20 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-11-2011, 05:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Prince George, British Columbia
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do you mount the a pillar pod? I have one and couldnt get it in there. I almost broke it. Do you have to remove the trim and grab handle on the a pillar. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors