SCT plus Insight equals Chrysler? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 Old 06-15-2009, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
LoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT plus Insight equals Chrysler?

I installed my Sct today and now none of my Ford specific pids work on my Insight. The only brand that shows up at all is Chrysler. I tried updating the insight but haven't got to the SCT yet. Edge tech support didn't have any useful help for me. Has anyone else had this problem? Or know how to fix it?

04 F-250 Crew Cab Long Bed
Edge Insight CTS
SCT with ID Tunes
Muffler and Kitty delete
ARP studs
EGR delete
Garrett Powermax turbo
Lots to follow . . .


Motorcycle Aren't Dangerous, It's the idiots in the cars around them!
LoCo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 06-15-2009, 05:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: America
Posts: 6,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the dashhawk which is pretty much the same thing and I had the same issue after SCT. I uploaded the newest dashhawk software on the device and it fixed it but I had to reset all the parameters. Honestly I just got over dealing with the dang thing and I'm just gonna spend the extra money and buy gauges instead of fiddling with the thing everytime I start the truck.
2005F250 is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 06-15-2009, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
LoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Actually they updated me with the dashawk software but it still didn't work. I uploaded my profile though so maybe I ha e to start fresh.

04 F-250 Crew Cab Long Bed
Edge Insight CTS
SCT with ID Tunes
Muffler and Kitty delete
ARP studs
EGR delete
Garrett Powermax turbo
Lots to follow . . .


Motorcycle Aren't Dangerous, It's the idiots in the cars around them!
LoCo is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 06-16-2009, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
LoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone else running this combo? Just wondering if its just a canned tune problem that will go away when I get custom tunes?

04 F-250 Crew Cab Long Bed
Edge Insight CTS
SCT with ID Tunes
Muffler and Kitty delete
ARP studs
EGR delete
Garrett Powermax turbo
Lots to follow . . .


Motorcycle Aren't Dangerous, It's the idiots in the cars around them!
LoCo is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 06-16-2009, 07:37 PM
Super Moderator

 
Goose350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I am running the insight with custom tunes. I recently updated it and have not had a problem nor did I have one before. Try disconnecting your batteries so the Insight has to rescan your VIN# and when it ask to use the predefined settings say no.

The Mullet Mod
Stock 2005 F-350 4x4
*Afe Intake
*4" TB Exhaust
*Scangauge
*SCT
*Bulletproof Diesel oil bypass
*Bulletproof Diesel water pump
*Tuned FICM
Goose350 is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 06-16-2009, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
LoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If I just unplugged the insight wouldn't it rescan?

04 F-250 Crew Cab Long Bed
Edge Insight CTS
SCT with ID Tunes
Muffler and Kitty delete
ARP studs
EGR delete
Garrett Powermax turbo
Lots to follow . . .


Motorcycle Aren't Dangerous, It's the idiots in the cars around them!
LoCo is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 06-16-2009, 07:42 PM
Super Moderator

 
Goose350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I am not sure but I unplug mine all the time and it only ask if I want to use the predefined settings. But when I disconnect the batteries it ask what type of vehicle it is and what type of fuel.

The Mullet Mod
Stock 2005 F-350 4x4
*Afe Intake
*4" TB Exhaust
*Scangauge
*SCT
*Bulletproof Diesel oil bypass
*Bulletproof Diesel water pump
*Tuned FICM
Goose350 is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 06-16-2009, 07:44 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
LoCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Alright, I'll give it a shot..when I first hooked it up its asking what type of fuel but it's skipping the what type of vehicle question and seems to assume its a chrysler!!

04 F-250 Crew Cab Long Bed
Edge Insight CTS
SCT with ID Tunes
Muffler and Kitty delete
ARP studs
EGR delete
Garrett Powermax turbo
Lots to follow . . .


Motorcycle Aren't Dangerous, It's the idiots in the cars around them!
LoCo is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 06-16-2009, 07:45 PM
Super Moderator

 
Goose350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Yeah, see if that works. I forgot that mine ask what type of fuel when I just unplug it. Maybe it will work and if not I don't know what to tell you.

The Mullet Mod
Stock 2005 F-350 4x4
*Afe Intake
*4" TB Exhaust
*Scangauge
*SCT
*Bulletproof Diesel oil bypass
*Bulletproof Diesel water pump
*Tuned FICM
Goose350 is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 06-16-2009, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just got my insight and am running a SCT custom tune. Exact same problem. At first the Insight wouldn't communicate with the truck while running. So I tried just turning the ignition on, not starting and it worked. It then kept cycling on and off over and over. I left it for 15 minutes, thinking it may need to do something. THen after that I unplugged and plugged in again and it worked. Later in the day I was messing around with the display config. and then it turned off?!?!?! So if restarted the truck and it defaulted to Chyrsler. I'll try disconnecting the battery, but shouldn't there be some reset to set the insight back to it's original state before using it?
caere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome