Gauge Installation - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2009, 04:46 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gauge Installation

Was wondering how involved things get when putting a gauge set in. Was thinking about a 3 gauge pillar mount...Egt, trans and boost. Been looking at the Autometer C-2 series (since they match the dash gauges).

I know the egt has to be drilled and tapped. What about boost and trans temp.?
What about routing wiring?

I'm a machinist by trade so drilling and tapping ain't no problem. But I get a little worried about sticking holes in the thing that gets me into town.

Appreciate any help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-15-2009, 04:51 AM
wriott

very easy to do. the hardest part is drilling and taping things. but you already are good at that so it will be easy for you. just plan out where you want to put things first and make sure you have enough wire. it takes time but well worth it. there is a port on the drivers side of the trans you can put the trans temp into. the boost gauge just tap into the intake elbow or into the map line, for the EGT put it into the exhaust manifold as close to the head as you can get. good luck
Old 06-15-2009, 04:53 AM
Too cool for school

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via AIM to taylorking Send a message via Yahoo to taylorking
Gauges arent bad at all, just time consuming

boost gauge is hooked up through a T fitting in the Map line, it's the easiest one to hook up.

Trans temp sender screws into the driver side of the transmission. there's a plug that you take out and replace with the sender. Ran those wires upp through the shifter cable boot.
Old 06-15-2009, 04:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict