how to install smoke switch please! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2009, 08:46 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: hoppers island
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation how to install smoke switch please!

tryin to find out how to install a smoke switch any helpo would be great!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-11-2009, 09:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Albion,IN
Posts: 408
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to justafarmtruck
fill your sig. in!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indpls., IN.
Posts: 1,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if you have a 6.0 just splice into one of the wires going to the turbo solenoid and run it inot the cab and put it to a switch. You need a programmer though to get smoke cause stock wont get you anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: E-Town KY
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've also looked into doing it to mine just for the heck of it. Do you think it would hurt to switch it "on the fly?"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indpls., IN.
Posts: 1,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats when you will most likely do it To smoke out the chebies and dooges
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-12-2009, 03:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KCMO
Posts: 831
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just run one of the two wires going to the turbo into a switch in cab. When the circuit is "broken" the turbo will go lazy and not spool until high-rpms, therefore lots of smoke!

I put my switch on the bottom left of the fuse panel cover, right where the little indention thing is, kinda to the left of the parking brake release. Very stealthy and easy to reach on the fly.

It gives it a nice rumble at idle too!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-13-2009, 10:20 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: sonoma county
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
is there a tutorial for this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-13-2009, 10:47 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is there any downsides to doing this? i have heard it can tear your truck up, any truth to it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-13-2009, 04:48 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: surprise, az
Posts: 413
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
anyone have a pic of the location and what wire to splice into?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-13-2009, 04:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indpls., IN.
Posts: 1,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No need for pic. just open hood look at turbo and you will see the solenoid and the 2 wires coming off it. Just cut one of the wires doesnt matter which one and run it to a switch in the cab
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors