SCT Problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2009, 10:10 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SE, Missouri
Posts: 585
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT Problem

I just got my SCT today, I went out to my truck, plugged it in and downloaded my stock file. (I thought I had to do this in order to get the file so I can get custom tunes.) I wrote it down then tried to put the stock file back in my truck and it won't let me. Its saying there is an error. So, my truck won't start now. What do I need to do?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-25-2009, 10:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
For right now you might just try to install a canned tune thats on the tuner. I had the same problem and i never got any help from sct. If you get a tune loaded on it you might be able to take it to ford for a reflash but they might charge you. Flash in tune see if it starts if it does. then see if it will let you reload the stock tune.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-25-2009, 10:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Harford County MD
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had same issue - I needed to re-install the Firmware and had SCT write me a stock file

Did your Firmware load onto the SCt ok ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-25-2009, 10:26 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SE, Missouri
Posts: 585
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Umm...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boggsie05 View Post
I had same issue - I needed to re-install the Firmware and had SCT write me a stock file

Did your Firmware load onto the SCt ok ?
Is the Firmware the file you download from there website. It has the icon of the SCT logo on my desktop I believe. What do I need to do with that? I just thought it would work without that at first. This is frustrating, I just got this thing today. This is my luck though, I shouldn't have thought anything else. HAHA
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-25-2009, 10:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Harford County MD
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Walk thru the instruction from start - ensuring that you download the Firmware to the SCT unit itself

What is the vehicle strategy ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-25-2009, 11:06 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SE, Missouri
Posts: 585
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boggsie05 View Post
Walk thru the instruction from start - ensuring that you download the Firmware to the SCT unit itself

What is the vehicle strategy ?

The strategy is: vxbc9n8

The SCT says error 1016 when trying to put the stock file back
The FW version is 1.2.106.0
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-25-2009, 12:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Harford County MD
Posts: 211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
can't help ya with a file - diff strategy..... exactly same code I got - Turned out to be the Firmware was incorrect on my SCT

Open the X3LWUpdater file

Follow instructions for updating the Firmware on your SCT

Try on Truck again

If it fails - don't panic - SCT will take care of you - just sux not to be open til Monday
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-25-2009, 01:05 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SE, Missouri
Posts: 585
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the help, but it says to return truck to stock before updating firmware. guess I won't be driving my truck this weekend, ha
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-25-2009, 01:06 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SE, Missouri
Posts: 585
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Will SCT rewrite me a stock file?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-25-2009, 08:33 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SE, Missouri
Posts: 585
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the help!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors