SCT X3 Questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2009, 05:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT X3 Questions

So im really new to this SCT Tunes but what are the pros and cons of this Tuner and also i have the bully dog E3 right now and love it but dont want anything real extreme cause i like my headgaskets and aint ready to spend the money just yet on a egr delete. So with that in mind is this programmer hard on trucks is there certain mods that should be done first. Im just tryin to learn about this thing right now maybe down the road by one after egr delete. Any advice would be awesome. Thanks Guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-17-2009, 05:10 AM
Chapter Director

im still learning myself i want to get one but what i have read is that strongly recomend headstuds, egr delete, and gauges. i also have seen people are getting away with out doin some of these things but be very careful. s**t happends
Old 04-17-2009, 05:34 AM

Get the SCT with tunes from Eric @ Innovative. If you are still under 100k miles (warranty) - run it hard a few times to tohse headbolts weak - Put her back to stock and go to the dealer complaining of antifreeze coming out of the bottle when you tow your 12klb trailer thru the hills... = New HG under warranty -- get em to put in ARP studs for you ($400), and new EGR.....

If it's a "Mod Friendlt" dealer - see if they will work with you on EGR...(Sneaky pipe), Delete kit, etc

Once Studs, EGR are addressed......get gauges...then

Load those Extreme tunes

PROs: - instant road domination
great power
great shifting
improved fuel mileage
people get out of your way
wild women flock to you

CONs: Tire wear - can't keep foot off