Quick question about SCT tuner... Tire Size! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2009, 01:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 712
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quick question about SCT tuner... Tire Size!

I know how to calculate it and all that, is that something I plug in or the person sending tunes does???

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-04-2009, 01:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 712
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Also, whats the pupose of pulling those fuses before tuning per SCT??? Everyone do this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxOutlaw View Post
I know how to calculate it and all that, is that something I plug in or the person sending tunes does???

Thanks!
You can just tell the peson tuning it your mods and your tire size and they will set it up for you. In lieu of that you can input your tire revolutions in the SCT prior to actually flashing the custom program. Think it is under the program engine - options area. Be aware though that if you are going to use one of the "canned" tunes that come with the programmer I dont believe changing the tire revolutions option actually does anything. It will let you change the tire revolutions all day long but they dont have any effect on the speedo. I changed my stock tires from 560 revs to 510 revs when I was using the "street" tune and both of them were still off by 3 mph at 70 according to my gps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxOutlaw View Post
Also, whats the pupose of pulling those fuses before tuning per SCT??? Everyone do this?
First I have heard of pulling fuses? I have changed my program a few times and never pulled any fuses. Where did you read about that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:11 PM
My 6OH Hates Me


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nexus of the Universe
Posts: 24,714
Thanks: 8
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
changing the revs on the tires does not have anything to do with changing the spedo, it has to do with the tranny shifting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 362
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the whole fuse thing is helps you if you have a weak battery. It says it in the owners manual to pull the fuses. It depends which Sct you have i have the sct 3 and it took about 5 min to download the tune. if your truck is warm it might kick on the electric fans or when the key is on your radio is on, or seat warmers anything that turns on with the key and is runing and you have a weak battery it could potentially kill the battery.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:20 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,018
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Absolutely no need to pull any fuses to change tunes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-04-2009, 05:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 712
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sweet thanks for all the help! Cale did an outstanding job!!! My truck is completely different now!! LOVE it!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors