Question about chips/programers - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 03-12-2009, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
RockStar_199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Antonio/Hawaii
Posts: 114
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question about chips/programers

Aloha

Just got a 04 F350 and the person b4 me had a Edge in it. My question is if he disco the Edge unit will it go back to stock setting? Did he have to set it back to stock? The reason im asking is that it sure doesnt feel like its stock. I had a 05 2500hd and it didnt have the power this is pulling. What would i need to do b4 i get a chip/programmer? Does it need to be put back to stock?

Im looking at getting the SCT X3 or LiveWire as i have been reading that SCT seem to be the programmer of choice. Are they the same in that they are programmers and that the LiveWire just has monitoring?

Im also going to be towing my Toy Hauler so i would like to have diff settings and looked at TW chips but not sure whats the diff in chips/programers. I see the the TW chip has more settings than just the 3 that the SCT has.

just looked again at TW chip and looks like the or not for the 6.0L sorry

Last edited by RockStar_199; 03-12-2009 at 04:35 PM. Reason: info
RockStar_199 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-13-2009, 05:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
npccpartsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gods Country/Home
Posts: 1,713
Thanks: 22
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
It depends on the Edge unit he had in it. If it was an inline unit and he pulled it then it's gone. If it was a Platinum he would have had to reprogram it (return to stock) to be able to use the Platinum on something else. A 6.0 needs a flash programmer (SCT is the best for a 6.0) in order to be done correctly. Shift on the fly WILL fry your tranny and most people discover that they don't need that anyway with the correct programming.

I Bleed Razorback Red

Ford Makes It, International Shakes It, Casserly Fuels It, KC Turbo Spools It, SCT Tunes It, and Trucks Unlimited keeps her Rockin the Road
npccpartsman is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-13-2009, 05:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
tex25025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by npccpartsman View Post
If it was a Platinum he would have had to reprogram it (return to stock) to be able to use the Platinum on something else.

The platinum is an in-line module. It's the same thing as the Edge Juice, except supposedly more safety features. The only downloader that I'm aware of that allows for shift on the fly abilitys is the Bullydog line of downloaders and they tout that little fact off to great degree.

2006 6.0 King Ranch DRW
Spartan Stage 1 Towing Injectors
Headstuds
Beta Spartan Phalanx
Suncoast Heavy Duty Torqshift Rebuild
ITP Fuel Regulated Return
Straight Piped MBRP 5" Exhaust
64mm Non-VGT turbo
tex25025 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-13-2009, 09:28 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
RockStar_199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Antonio/Hawaii
Posts: 114
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure what one he had only that it was an Edge so it should be stock then? I would hate to fry something by adding a new unit. anyway to tell without having to go to a dealer?
RockStar_199 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-13-2009, 09:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
tex25025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockStar_199 View Post
Not sure what one he had only that it was an Edge so it should be stock then? I would hate to fry something by adding a new unit. anyway to tell without having to go to a dealer?
As long as it wasn't the evolution(which is a tuner) then just by removing the module from the engine bay should be sufficient to having removed it. If you can get ahold of the previous owner and ask "him" that would be the best. If it's the Juice or Juice platinum and it's not under the hood then your good to go.

2006 6.0 King Ranch DRW
Spartan Stage 1 Towing Injectors
Headstuds
Beta Spartan Phalanx
Suncoast Heavy Duty Torqshift Rebuild
ITP Fuel Regulated Return
Straight Piped MBRP 5" Exhaust
64mm Non-VGT turbo
tex25025 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome