mod. turbo - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 07:45 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: temple tx
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
mod. turbo

ok first of I know some have mod. there own turbo aka stage one. I have a billet single plane powermax wheel and am wanting to install in my stock 04 turbo. I have a friend who can do the machine work but has never done one. my question is do you just bore out housing to accommodate or is the radius different on the stock vs powermax?? he said everything would be easy to do he was just conserned on the radius of the wheel being different? any help would be appriciated thanks
kgbusa68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 07:59 AM
BACKYARDIGAN


 
windrunner408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 30
Thanked 130 Times in 90 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The "curve" (as we'll call it) is actually compound radius that has three parts to it. It's not just one simple curve with a given radius. It's gonna be pretty tough IMO to get the right curve by just having a wheel. Ideally you'd need a Powermax cover and then translate that curve to the OE stock cover.

Nate
2006 F350 (BACKYARDIGAN) - 67mm Turbo, 215/85 injectors, WPE intake manifold, NB/Warren Trans, and more stuff that I don't care to mention....
2006 F250 (LITTLE DURTY) - WPE Manifold, Up-pipes, EGR delete kit, and Tuned By ME
BULLET PROOF DIESEL 1-888-967-6653
KC TUROS - Not just a modified Powermax...

WINDRUNNER PERFORMANCE ENGINEERING
WWW.WPEDIESEL.COM

windrunner408 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 08:20 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: temple tx
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I was thinking the same thing but having a hard time finding just a cover for sale....I have been looking at your diy kits you sell and funds arnt there just yet but I know covers are fairly inexpensive too need to just find one.....Also I have seen a few members here that have machined there turbo housing to accommodate. I have pm them and was hoping they would shed some light on what they have done too...
kgbusa68 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 08:35 AM
Premium Member

 
peixinho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,387
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Thanks: 197
Thanked 332 Times in 247 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Excuse my blunt comments... LOL


anyone can half-A$$ a cover and physically fit the wheel inside of the compressor cover. But if the person cutting the cover is asking if the radius is different... then he should not be cutting your cover. The tolerances are very tight and even the most skilled machinist can mess it up.

If the cover is cut to tight then the wheel will rub and possibly blow up your turbo. If the tolerance is too loose (which is what most people do to avoid rubbing) then you will end up with a poor performing turbo.



I love the DIY stuff and always promote it... but be careful that you don't end up with a blown up turbo or a poor performing turbo

KC Turbos kcturbosinc@gmail.com
Warren Diesel Dealer
My Current Build Thread http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/6-0...ml#post7528746

Current Setup 190/30 and KC 64mm Stage 2 turbo
peixinho is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 08:50 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: temple tx
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so probly find a pmax housing would be better huh
kgbusa68 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 08:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jmeaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 39 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just my thoughts on what Charlie said.... Be prepared to screw up haha. Like said before it's hard

04 f250 cc sb.
Egr block off, 4 inch turbo back ss magnaflow exhaust, billet turbo wheel, 05 Harley headlights, S&B intake, XDP coolant filter, tuned with Sct by PHP, BDS Dual rear add a leaf, Firestone ride rite airbags, 2 12 inch kicker subs, infinity rear speakers, mb quart frontdoor speakers, mb quart amp, autopumpkin Android headunit, torque pro.
jmeaby is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 08:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jmeaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 39 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Other note which stock turbine do you have? Ten blade or 13? Not sure how they do with the 13 blade butnate and Charlie can chime in. I would listen to those guys they know their stuff.

04 f250 cc sb.
Egr block off, 4 inch turbo back ss magnaflow exhaust, billet turbo wheel, 05 Harley headlights, S&B intake, XDP coolant filter, tuned with Sct by PHP, BDS Dual rear add a leaf, Firestone ride rite airbags, 2 12 inch kicker subs, infinity rear speakers, mb quart frontdoor speakers, mb quart amp, autopumpkin Android headunit, torque pro.
jmeaby is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: temple tx
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if it were easy everyone would be doing it lol.....but it can be done
kgbusa68 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 09:36 AM
Premium Member
 
HP MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NORTH OF TORONTO
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send the cover and wheel to WPE,KC or Barder and get them to machine it .Do the back plate yourself and go to town . The shipping wouldn't be too bad compared to sending the
whole assembly .
HP MACHINE is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 07-02-2014, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: temple tx
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok will do
kgbusa68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome