6.4 transmission - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2014, 11:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
6.4 transmission

So my transmission went out in in my truck and I found another locally brand new for 1500 but it has a 6.4 tc with it. If I just swap flywheels that should be all I need right? Everything else should be the same? I've read on a few past threads that I might need a separate controller for it but have never heard of that before. Any help would be great.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-14-2014, 06:20 PM
N.S.D.Q.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,927
Thanks: 9
Thanked 40 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Last I knew swapping the flywheel or torque converter was all that was required.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-15-2014, 06:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 2,136
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
A separate controller won't be necessary
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-15-2014, 06:34 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Fayette/Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 5,218
Thanks: 21
Thanked 72 Times in 63 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
The flex plate(8 stud holes instead of 6) is all I was told also. The reason a standalone controller was mentioned was because the 6.4 uses a separate TCM. The reason it does this is because the injector driver is internal to the PCM, unlike a 6.0 which has a combination PCM/TCM and a separate injector driver (FICM). That is where the confusion originated from, the 5R110W for all years is controlled the same way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-15-2014, 06:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
That's good to know. I'm throwing it on Thursday since I have the day of and hopefully get it back on the road.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-16-2014, 09:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The balance on the flywheel could be different from a 6.4 to the 6.0 since the are a different engine. Yes the bolt pattern is the same on the crank but the front pulley is way different. I would put the correct torque converter in it for the 6.0 not swap flywheels. You don't want an engine balance problem to wipe out the bottom end of your engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-16-2014, 11:02 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,490
Thanks: 119
Thanked 194 Times in 138 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
From what I have been told... you just need to put an aftermarket converter on the 6.4 transmission that has both the 6.0 and 6.4 mounting holes. Then it should bolt right up. I know my tranny is out of a 6.4 and it was built by andy warren. They both look identical and everything bolted up just fine.


I am not sure if any of the sensors are different but you could easily swap that over from your core 6.0 tranny.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-16-2014, 01:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The transmission came with a tc. It will be cheaper to just buy the flex player and swap it out then to buy another tc. I'm not to worried about balance problems. From what I've read people have done it with no issues at all.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-16-2014, 01:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 223
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Might not but I wouldn't chance it. Engines aren't cheap.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Amfw119 likes this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-17-2014, 10:57 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 104
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone know if the harness plug is the same? Is it plug and play electrically?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors