How do I change tunes on a X3??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brighton , CO
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do I change tunes on a X3???

Hello everybody! first post here....and I have a problem
I have a SCT x3 from Innovative. Comes highly recommended on this site.lol I have only had it about 2 weeks. I loaded the xtreme street tune with no issues. The truck runs great. My problem is I need to use my truck to tow tomorrow. I tried to load in my tow program and the stock program. Both say incorrect vehicle. Am I doing something wrong? I really need to get this figured out quickly. Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:57 PM
The Lady Mod


 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 8,512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Granny
Where those tunes written for YOUR truck? If not, then I would contact Eric. If they were then you may have a corrupt file and I would contact Eric anyway. What you might try doing is returning the truck to stock and then try loading those tunes. Is is saying your tuner does not recognize the tunes or your truck does not accept them? You can only load 1 tune at a time in your truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sutter
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so you tried to return your truck to stock and it wouldnt do it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 237
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
clear your dtcs first then try. happenes to me all the time
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 613
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had my Livewire act up on me and it said incorrect vehicle, and I had to talk with SCT tech support and they sent me a stock recovery file so I could return it to stock so that it could recognize it, and then I was good to go.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:11 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brighton , CO
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is a tune for my truck. I figured I should return it to the factory tune before I changed anything. It said incorrect vehicle. So I tried a couple more times . just says incorrect vehicle. I also tried clearing the dtcs. Looks like I might be hosed for today... Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Anchorage, KY
Posts: 1,070
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to FastFocus
Quote:
Originally Posted by nthe10s View Post
This is a tune for my truck. I figured I should return it to the factory tune before I changed anything. It said incorrect vehicle. So I tried a couple more times . just says incorrect vehicle. I also tried clearing the dtcs. Looks like I might be hosed for today... Thanks everyone!
i had the same problem when i first got mine, kept telling me incorrect vehicle and i wanted to throw the thing at a wall because i was stuck on the tow tune. Just started playing with it and found an error code, cleared it then i went to try and change the tune again and walaa downloading extreme street tune, lol. I also thought i had to go back to stock before i changed tunes, but i was wrong agian. The sct has def. been a learning experience especially coming from a bully dog tripple dog, but i love the power and trans tuning from ID. just clear the DTC's then try to just load the tow tune, it should work just fine. if you still have problems try emailing Eric or calling SCT.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-08-2009, 07:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sutter
Posts: 459
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well if its an emergency i guess you can always go to ford and reflash it. but i would rather talk to tech support.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-11-2009, 11:08 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brighton , CO
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well I ended up talking to SCT and it was a problem with the firmware. They had a new update that needed installed. I was a day late getting the tune done. I had to borrow my dads 99 F350 but got it all working. Found some issues with my dads truck though, so looks like I'm off to the 7.3 boards...
Thanks for the help everyone!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors