head studs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Heavy_GD
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2014, 07:21 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
head studs

so i am currently deployed and am trying to form my battle plan for how to tackle my 6L when i come home i ordered a oil cooler and arp head studs and a new set of gaskets. my current gasket is not blown. so i was curious if anyone out there with more knowledge than myself knows if i can take the old studs out one at a time and replace them with the arp studs torque to spec and move to the next bolt? any knowledge or helpful hint are welcomed...other than paying someone else to do it everyone where i live in colorado wants 2000-2500 just to install the studs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-08-2014, 07:49 AM
American and Proud


 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,960
Thanks: 118
Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
most people pull the heads and have them decked so they are flat, it's quite labor intensive that is why it costs so much money
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to junior125 For This Useful Post:
Jprice870 (06-08-2014)
  #3  
Old 06-08-2014, 08:55 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah most people want max amount of HP they can get out of their motors i want to bullet proof it so i dont need to buy a new truck for many years. my question is can i pull one bolt at a time replacing it immediately with the new arp bolt torqued to spec to take a short cut and not have to pull the head and replace the gasket that is not blown.?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-09-2014, 12:53 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,665
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jprice870 View Post
yeah most people want max amount of HP they can get out of their motors i want to bullet proof it so i dont need to buy a new truck for many years. my question is can i pull one bolt at a time replacing it immediately with the new arp bolt torqued to spec to take a short cut and not have to pull the head and replace the gasket that is not blown.?
The answer is yes there is a sticky post on somewhere a complete how to. Good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-09-2014, 04:06 AM
...swamp trash...
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lake Worth
Posts: 2,386
Thanks: 91
Thanked 125 Times in 100 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yes a few have done it. I would not. I would pull the heads and do it right. If the truck is running fine I would just save up for a little longer and do the whole job at once. Thanks for your service to our country BTW.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-09-2014, 04:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: southern va
Posts: 609
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jprice870 View Post
yeah most people want max amount of HP they can get out of their motors i want to bullet proof it so i dont need to buy a new truck for many years.


thers no such thing as a bullet proof motor, even with studs and everything else u can put in/on them, and if ur goin to do a stud job, do it right the first time, it will save u alot of time, money & headache

Last edited by 6 L chevy eater; 06-09-2014 at 05:07 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-10-2014, 09:44 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 36
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the input guys that doing it the long way felt right but i heard of other guys doing it and just wanted to see what some other folks thought about it. pulling the cab for the studs my make putting in my new clutch easier as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-10-2014, 10:17 AM
Moderator

 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 804Va
Posts: 3,173
Thanks: 870
Thanked 153 Times in 132 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
make a hit list and do it all while her dress is up.
william_ace and Jprice870 like this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Heavy_GD For This Useful Post:
Jprice870 (06-11-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors