SCT - kam reset ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 06-07-2014, 07:30 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
HP MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NORTH OF TORONTO
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 3
Thanked 51 Times in 46 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Question SCT - kam reset ?

Hello gentlemen , I just purchased an SCT 3015 for our 2006 6.0 and when I
connect to the truck and start into the menu's to tune the first screen asks
if I would like to reset KAM . I would like to know what this accomplishes .
The tuner I have for our 04' (3015ID) doesn't ask this - confused
Any input would be appreciated Thank you
HP MACHINE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 06-07-2014, 08:24 PM
Premium Member
 
snafu!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 1,469
Thanks: 19
Thanked 50 Times in 43 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Keep Alive Memory, it clears the adaptive memory in the trans. It is a good idea to reset KAM when going from one tuner to another, disconnecting the batteries does the same thing.
Heavy_GD likes this.

Cameron
2006 F250 Lariat CCSB
Comp Turbo 64/88 compounds
Warren 285/100
ODAWG ported intake
R&R rods, mahle pistons, stage 2 colt cam
Built Trans
Water/Meth
snafu! is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 06-09-2014, 06:17 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
HP MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NORTH OF TORONTO
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 3
Thanked 51 Times in 46 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Thanks for the response , so in effect it "zero's " to a basic factory setting and each
time it re adjusts to your driving style ?
When you said " tuner " did you mean "tune " ? I may have been changing tunes the
wrong way as I've just been changing from one to another ( on my 04' )
HP MACHINE is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 06-09-2014, 07:45 AM
Premium Member
 
Pro fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland county Michigan
Posts: 812
Thanks: 179
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think he means what he said , when changing from one tune writers (IDP )to another( php) is when this is needed !


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2006 F350 KR cclb 155/stock full force powermax / WWII leveled carli 2.5 pintops 08&up full rear spring ouo 3link arms 36 toyo mt 4.30 yukon grizzly rear locker :yike
s:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

New ride 2015 tow boss dpf & egr lost !!
Pro fuzz is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 06-09-2014, 07:47 AM
Premium Member
 
Pro fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oakland county Michigan
Posts: 812
Thanks: 179
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I go back to stock then load different tuners tune ?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2006 F350 KR cclb 155/stock full force powermax / WWII leveled carli 2.5 pintops 08&up full rear spring ouo 3link arms 36 toyo mt 4.30 yukon grizzly rear locker :yike
s:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

New ride 2015 tow boss dpf & egr lost !!
Pro fuzz is online now  
post #6 of 12 Old 06-09-2014, 08:30 AM
Super Moderator

 
Heavy_GD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 804Va
Posts: 13,683
Thanks: 3,616
Thanked 1,078 Times in 1,015 Posts
Mentioned: 103 Post(s)
Quoted: 1239 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro fuzz View Post
I go back to stock then load different tuners tune ?
Ditto... always play it safe.

GD

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6.0Stroker View Post
It's Toren. .. don't question it ..
Heavy_GD is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 06-09-2014, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
HP MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NORTH OF TORONTO
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 3
Thanked 51 Times in 46 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Thanks for the info guys , this might explain why I had one tune that I had to take back
off because of weird shifting . There are other people running the same tune , and love it .
I'll be sure to use the proper sequence this time .
HP MACHINE is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 06-09-2014, 05:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokin6L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: springville NY
Posts: 2,626
Thanks: 24
Thanked 54 Times in 49 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I never unhooked the batteries to reset the KAM when i switch between different tuners tunes. never had any issues

2004 F-350 SC 4x4, XLT, 4" dual Magnaflow, AFE intake, No Limit piping, spearco intercooler, water injection, ARP studs, hypemax o-ringed heads, SCT tuned by Innovative Diesel, tuned FICM, Hellman's sump, FASS, Fuelab, regulated return, 190/75 injectors, KC/MTW 68 w/.72ar, suncoast trans w/billet input, edge insight CS with dakota digital gauges, amsoil by-pass, BD exhaust manifolds
strokin6L is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 06-09-2014, 05:44 PM
Premium Member
 
snafu!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 1,469
Thanks: 19
Thanked 50 Times in 43 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by strokin6L View Post
I never unhooked the batteries to reset the KAM when i switch between different tuners tunes. never had any issues
I haven't either, Larz told me on certain trucks going from say IDP (for example) to Matts it will cause shifting problems.

Cameron
2006 F250 Lariat CCSB
Comp Turbo 64/88 compounds
Warren 285/100
ODAWG ported intake
R&R rods, mahle pistons, stage 2 colt cam
Built Trans
Water/Meth
snafu! is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 06-09-2014, 06:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
strokin6L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: springville NY
Posts: 2,626
Thanks: 24
Thanked 54 Times in 49 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by snafu! View Post
I haven't either, Larz told me on certain trucks going from say IDP (for example) to Matts it will cause shifting problems.
Hmm...yeah never had any of that happen with my truck going from tuner to tuner

2004 F-350 SC 4x4, XLT, 4" dual Magnaflow, AFE intake, No Limit piping, spearco intercooler, water injection, ARP studs, hypemax o-ringed heads, SCT tuned by Innovative Diesel, tuned FICM, Hellman's sump, FASS, Fuelab, regulated return, 190/75 injectors, KC/MTW 68 w/.72ar, suncoast trans w/billet input, edge insight CS with dakota digital gauges, amsoil by-pass, BD exhaust manifolds
strokin6L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome