SCT or Studs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2014, 07:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: eugene,OR
Posts: 90
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Talking SCT or Studs

okay guys got some cash saved up
A: should I get an SCT livewire with tunes
or
B: get it studded


first off I haven't looked to see if its studded by previous owner
is $1500 a good price for some one to stud?


who should I get the custom tunes from and what ones are good I want one for prius replant and probably a street one and a economy



mpt smoke bomb or bazooka tune
don't talk **** about smokeing out the occaisional ricer/****ty driver
everyone who drives a diesel secretly wants too...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-02-2014, 07:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: eugene,OR
Posts: 90
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ive had a diablo with custom 110hp race tune and ran the bully dog pmt on extreme never had any problems...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-02-2014, 07:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ruidoso, NM
Posts: 1,618
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you can get it done for that price and trust them...I'd go for it.,,I've been quoted closer to 4000-5000 to get studs done....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-02-2014, 07:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: eugene,OR
Posts: 90
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a warrenty so I'm almost tempted to get the tune and let them replace bolts if necessary
I need to look cause i dont know if previous owner studded


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-02-2014, 07:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 422
Thanks: 13
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to wvrrcarknocker
Studs first, if you ask me. That's what i'm doing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-02-2014, 08:02 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What is the point of studding first? To do the studs you still need to replace the gaskets and check the heads right? Why not just wait until they go to drop the same amount of money.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-02-2014, 09:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bangor, WI
Posts: 143
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Depending on the owner before you I did studs and SCT at the same time. Kid before me ran a 100 hp race tune and smoked the clutch, rear tires, and had to put two new heads on. If it's one or the other studs first. If you have warranty just becareful because some places will look if you had a tune on it and null the warranty.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-04-2014, 07:01 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: eugene,OR
Posts: 90
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah good points but how hard is it to return livewire to stock?
or throw a benj at the mechanic to flash?? and save 1500-2000?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-04-2014, 07:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bangor, WI
Posts: 143
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure on live wire have x3 and it's just as simple as selecting stock. Not sure how in depth fords computers are but at the truck delearship I work at we can go back in ECM history and see if it has has a programmer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-04-2014, 08:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,217
Thanks: 2
Thanked 27 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stud it. If that guy does good work that is stud it. You can get a programmer anytime and this way when you do you have one less thing to worry about. I would much rather do studs when I choose to instead of have to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors