Poor Highway mileage - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2008, 12:58 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Poor Highway mileage

I've been running Innovative Aggressive Street tune for a few months now and average 17.5mpg city driving (21 stoplights in a 24 mile commute). The best tank I've seen in the city with a VERY LIGHT FOOT was 19.8mpg. 17.5mpg average is up 1.5mpg from my complete stock city driving average.

I averaged 11mpg with the aggressive Tow tune taking the camper back and forth to the beach (mostly flat). That is 2mpg less than my stock average when towing the camper.

Yesterday I needed to drive back and forth to Richmond VA from Raleigh NC for business. It was about 360 mile round trip. It was all highway at approx 70mph. I had 3 passengers and our average weight was probably 200 so I had about 800lb load in the cab

I expected to get >20mpg on the highway mile round trip but only got 17mpg. I filled just before and refilled immediately after the trip and had filled up to the neck both times.

I'm disappointed with the mileage. I used to get 18.5mpg on the stock tune on unloaded highway trips.

So my average city driving is 1.5mpg better than stock but 1.5mpg worse than stock on the highway.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-05-2008, 01:04 PM

Do you ever run a fuel treatment or cetane boost?
Old 09-05-2008, 01:04 PM

Yes I run the stuff in the silver bottle... Power Service I think it's called
Old 09-05-2008, 01:09 PM

I been using amsoil fuel treatment and cetane boost and I can tell a difference in milleage when I dont use it thought that might be a factor in your situation.
Old 09-05-2008, 03:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict