Quad Commander problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2008, 07:56 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kalistan
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quad Commander problems

After installing the commander, it worked for two days. Now all I get a a blank back lit screen. Has anyone had this problem?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: IA MN SD
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
First thing I'd do is update it to the latest firmware version from the quadzilla website. Then I'd check over all of the connections. I'd be suspicious of the quick splices they supplied with the kit, if you used them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:52 AM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,154
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
even with a bad connection you should get something on the screen. Update it as suggested above and then call them if that doesn't work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-01-2008, 07:45 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kalistan
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'll try the updates. I don't think that the it is the connections. I don't even the quad logo on start up any more. Starting to think analog gages would have been a better road to go down. Thanks for the advice!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-01-2008, 07:52 PM
Raging Lunatic

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Euless, Texas
Posts: 8,804
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Money Pit, your avatar is great!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-01-2008, 08:48 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kalistan
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Money Pit, your avatar is great!
Thanks. Lets just pray that he does not get elected. That would be bad.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-02-2008, 07:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sivlerdale, WA
Posts: 218
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had the same issue with my Commander. I was told to loosen the screws just a bit on the case. Very hokey but it actually worked.

I actually can't stand my Commander as I don't trust its readings. The coolant reads 10 degrees too high, I had to totally rebuild the fuel pressure kit with 100.00 in parts just to make it read right. Everything works ok now but it was a pain to get it right.

I definately wish I would've gotten analog gauges.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-02-2008, 07:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: IA MN SD
Posts: 233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm still waiting for the fuel pressure sender from eGauges... ordered on May 27. I'm told I should have it a week after the 4th of July..... Whoo hooo! 6 weeks after the original order.

My water temp (and all other parameters) seems to read fine, as far as I can tell. I run right around 190 - 193 unloaded rolling down the highway. I haven't had any functional issues with mine either.

My only complaints are...

The pillar pod I got with it is for a 04 and up, so it's supposed to mount on the bottom of the grab handle. No grab handle in my truck, so the pod has a visible gap in the molding and doesn't look right. I haven't used it, so sooner or later I'll eBay it and get the right pod.

Also, I had difficulty downloading and installing the updated firmware. Not that I needed to since everything seems to work fine, but I figured I'd get the latest and greatest in it before I installed it. Didn't work out. Now I think it was a FireFox issue, since I've recently heard of other issues with files downloaded with FireFox.

Last edited by w_huisman; 07-02-2008 at 07:42 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-02-2008, 06:02 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kalistan
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ciscofreak View Post
I had the same issue with my Commander. I was told to loosen the screws just a bit on the case. Very hokey but it actually worked.
Yep I stumbled on that, it worked for a day or two then is was back to being backlit only. Waiting to get a laptop to do the updates.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors