livewire or scal3??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 06-28-2008, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
thumptrkng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
livewire or scal3???

im in the market for a programmer but do not know wich one to choose? anyone with recommendation?
Thanks Tank for the posting advice!
thumptrkng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-28-2008, 03:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
goodriddance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western PA
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't have any experience with the Live Wire, but I have the Xcal3 and have recommended it to all my friends and the one's who got it seem to be really pleased with it.
goodriddance is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-28-2008, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
thumptrkng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do i need temp gauges with xcal3 and do i have to buy seperately?
thumptrkng is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-28-2008, 03:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
goodriddance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western PA
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes you would have to get gauges,the Xcal3 is a hand held programmer that after you program your truck you tuck away in you center console until you need to program or read DTC's again, you could go with a Quadzilla commander, I run a Edge Insight, or you could go with a A pillar gauge system
goodriddance is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-28-2008, 04:11 PM
Raging Lunatic

 
choctaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Euless, Texas
Posts: 8,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I use the SF3 and am very pleased. Like goodridance said you should have gauges at least an EGT, unless you tow a lot then then I would add the trans temp. There is a good selection of custom tunes to choose from. Whether you go SF3, X3, or Livewire you will very pleased with SCT.

Halito...Sa hohchifo ut Mike
On EARTH as it is in TEXAS
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
"Fast Service Guaranteed...No Matter How Long It Takes"
choctaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome