How to read ebp using livewire ts - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2013, 06:56 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,557
Thanks: 126
Thanked 202 Times in 143 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
How to read ebp using livewire ts

Well I am pretty upset that the livewire ts does not read ebp (exhaust back pressure)... it seems so simple for the livewire to do it, the truck is already set up for everything. At first the livewire could read ebp but the equation was wrong. Then with all the complaints they got... instead of fixing the equation they got rid of it all together, so if you update or have a new livewire ts it does not even have the ebp pid.

I am determined to figure out how to make it work and I have a couple of different ideas... but I have a few questions and I need a little help from some electronic gurus here on the org (electronics are not my specialty )


As far as I understand it the ebp sensor is a 5 volt sensor. It reads from 0-5 volts which is a linear equation to equal 0-54psi... So I should be able to tie into the lines, and plug it into the livewire TS, select the firewire cable, select or make the correct formula, and bam I get my ebp sensor back.


Here are my naive electronic questions:
  • Will tying into the ebp wires disrupt or mess with the computer signals
  • what equation should i choose?
  • what are the 3 wires going to the ebp sensor (?ground, signal, 5v power?)
  • is there an easier way than what I am doing



Here is some good info from the 6.0 bible






On a side note if I can get this to work then I should be able to do the same thing with the boost side of things so I can read it correctly past 30psi



.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-25-2013, 07:01 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: shreveport, la.
Posts: 4,159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 106 Times in 90 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You will use the analog input on the top. And you'll have to set up your own equation using live link.

my maths aint good enough to tell you what it needs to be though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-25-2013, 07:04 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,557
Thanks: 126
Thanked 202 Times in 143 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by portcity_gt View Post
You will use the analog input on the top. And you'll have to set up your own equation using live link.

my maths aint good enough to tell you what it needs to be though.
Thanks. I installed the egts sensor and fuel pressure sensor and it was pretty easy. Just did not know if I could use the same principles


Hopefully someone with better math Skillz than us can chime in
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-25-2013, 07:24 AM
Moderator

 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 804Va
Posts: 3,306
Thanks: 898
Thanked 160 Times in 139 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews


Arent there SCT folk on this board?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-25-2013, 08:01 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Moyock, North Carolina
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 10
Thanked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Subscribed. I'm curious about this. Maybe if enough people keep emailing SCT they can just fix it without all the monkeying around. I don't know if tapping into the existing wires would effect the readings to both the ecm and the livewire ts...which could be an issue if you are using a strategy that uses ebp. I would be worried that sending a signal to the ts might effect voltage drop going to the computer. You could get another sensor and pigtail and plumb in your own sensor...I'd probably go that route, then I guess it'd be the same thing as a fuel pressure sensor and getting the ts to read that properly. If you could check that against a known good way to measure ebp, a scan gauge or whatever. Some sensor manufacturers give you the formula.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-25-2013, 08:35 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,557
Thanks: 126
Thanked 202 Times in 143 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Maybe we should all ban together and call sct and complain... it should not be that hard to fix the problem... It really makes me mad that they would delete the option instead of fixing it...


I am also curious if there are any sct folk here on the board
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-25-2013, 08:58 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: shreveport, la.
Posts: 4,159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 106 Times in 90 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Something else you can try, you can set up custom datalog layouts and flash them to the ts with livelink. You might just be able to turn ebp back on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-25-2013, 09:34 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,557
Thanks: 126
Thanked 202 Times in 143 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
My ebp is still on... I never updated.

But it does not read right
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-25-2013, 12:12 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,557
Thanks: 126
Thanked 202 Times in 143 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
So i think the formula should be simple enough

0 volts = 0 psi

5 volts = 54psi

the equation is a simple linear graph so 54/5 = 10.8


so 10.8 x volts should equal psi
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-25-2013, 12:15 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,557
Thanks: 126
Thanked 202 Times in 143 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I would love to just tap into the existing wire on the ebp sensor that sends the signal to the pcm... then tie it into the livewire firewire plug, then I should be able to select that wire and set the formula to (10.8*v)


I just need to figure out if tying into the wire will disrupt the signal to the pcm




.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors