Gearhead SRL tune- first time use - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 08-30-2013, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Soledad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Posts: 355
Thanks: 16
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Gearhead SRL tune- first time use

So.....I installed my first ever "custom tune" on this truck yesterday. I hadn't even been running the canned SCT tunes. I just went straight to a custom tune.

Anyway, here's what I've done to the truck (it ain't much):

1. 4" turbo back exhaust with muffler and 4" down pipe
2. PHP Atlas-40 FICM tune
3. blue spring mod
4. ScanGauge-2 and 3-in-1 Glowshift gauge
5. Coolant filter

Intake, EGR, head bolts are all still stock.

I went to Matt @ Gearhead and got his package of 3 tunes (SRL, 8kTow and Unlimited Tow). I ordered them Wednesday and got them Thursday. Now that's service!

I wanted the full monty so I went right with the SRL tune and installed that during my lunch hour. I started the truck up but found that my ScanGauge-2 wasn't reading any of the extended PID's now. I didn't have much time to troubleshoot so I turned the truck off. After work, I started the truck up and again noticed the ScanGauge wasn't working right. I unplugged it and plugged it back in but no joy. I turned the truck off and restarted it and again no joy with the ScanGauge. With no time to troubleshoot I headed to the grocery store. When I came back out and started the truck up the ScanGauge was now reading correctly. I have NOOOOO idea why it did what it did after I installed the Tune but I have read of one or two other people that had the same issue.

Anyway, while pulling out of Safeway I decided to check out the tail pipe smoke and got on it just a little bit. There was no smoke. I thought "hmmmm....I'll just get on it hard and then see how much it smokes". Well, it scared the **** out of me because I was not expecting it to take off like a bat out of hell. And when someone said that it changes the sound of the truck, oh hell yeah it does. That thing got mean and nasty sounding like it was eating up small children for lunch. I looked up and saw my EGT's climbing really fast so I let off at 55mph and checked the rear view mirror. There was some dark brown smoke but nothing like rolling coal. I was now extremely impressed.

Here's what I noticed on my 22 mile drive back from the grocery store:

- It's now waaaaaaaaay faster than with just a 4" turbo back exhaust and FICM tune.
- The truck is more responsive on take off and just driving around town.
- The EGT's climb really fast so I'll have to be keeping an eye on them when I get on it hard.
- During normal easy driving and highway cruising the EGT's are actually lower. I expected them to be higher. The same mile-long hill just before the exit to my town, I would hit 780-800* with the FICM tune and 4" exhaust. Now it's hitting 700-720*. I'm not quite sure why that is especially if I'm running the hotter tune.
- During normal driving the truck sounds the same. Get on it hard and holy moly it snarls.
- I may look look into a water injection system just to help with the EGT's.

And, from here on out I gotta be careful and start planning for the inevitable headstud/headgasket repairs.

2006 F-350 XLT FX4 SCLB 6.0L | TTY head bolts | stock EGR and cooler | blue spring FP mod | PHP Atlas 40 FICM tune | ScanGauge 2 & GlowShift 3-in-1 gauge (Boost/EGT/FP) | PMM coolant filter kit | Flo~Pro 4" turbo back w/muffler | stock tune
Soledad is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 08-30-2013, 08:12 AM
Premium Member
 
HP MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NORTH OF TORONTO
Posts: 1,147
Thanks: 3
Thanked 49 Times in 44 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Probably something to do with KAM , my scanguage and my Edge cts both have to
reset after loading any tune .
SRL+ here and love it . I run mine with PHP econ and srl+ combined and have virtually no
smoke and good fuel mileage . The driveability and shifting are the best I have found yet
for street daily driving with My truck
HP MACHINE is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 08-30-2013, 08:30 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Soledad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Posts: 355
Thanks: 16
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
By the way, is there a way to adjust the Tire Revs Per Mile without having to reload the Tune again? (I have an SCT SF3) I set my Rev's to a value I calc'd using an online calculator and the speedo is still off. Tonight I'm going to actually measure and then readjust the Revs Per Mile in the SCT again but I wasn't sure if there was a way to do it without reloading the Tune.

Thanks!

2006 F-350 XLT FX4 SCLB 6.0L | TTY head bolts | stock EGR and cooler | blue spring FP mod | PHP Atlas 40 FICM tune | ScanGauge 2 & GlowShift 3-in-1 gauge (Boost/EGT/FP) | PMM coolant filter kit | Flo~Pro 4" turbo back w/muffler | stock tune
Soledad is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 08-30-2013, 10:05 AM
Premium Member
 
HP MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NORTH OF TORONTO
Posts: 1,147
Thanks: 3
Thanked 49 Times in 44 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The SCT asks you before you load the tune if you would like to change any options
( i.e. tire size , revs per mile etc. ) . There is a whole list available when it appears .
HP MACHINE is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 09-02-2013, 09:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 
RollinEarly99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 3,383
Thanks: 30
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Only way to change the revs-per-mile is to change the settings and reload the tune.

05 F-250 Crew Cab Short Bed
ARPs w/OEM Gaskets
MTW Stage 2 w/batmowheel
BPD oil cooler w/ cold weather package
BPD Updated umm...Everything
BPD bypass oil filter
BPD FICM 58v
Spring Mod
Egr deleted
4" Duals
Edge CTS
Custom grille made by Me
X3 w/Matts SRL+/SRLxx and Tow Tunes
Tony WildmanExtreme w/early lockup



RollinEarly99 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 09-02-2013, 09:38 PM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,289
Thanks: 720
Thanked 814 Times in 783 Posts
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
changing settings like revs or shifts ETC is a lot faster than actually loading a tune from stock

tunes have never upset My Edge CTS

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial
https://www.gofundme.com/2464axqr
We Miss you Ronnie
RIP
ZMANN is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-03-2013, 06:48 AM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Thanks: 4
Thanked 48 Times in 19 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soledad View Post
By the way, is there a way to adjust the Tire Revs Per Mile without having to reload the Tune again? (I have an SCT SF3) I set my Rev's to a value I calc'd using an online calculator and the speedo is still off. Tonight I'm going to actually measure and then readjust the Revs Per Mile in the SCT again but I wasn't sure if there was a way to do it without reloading the Tune.

Thanks!
Setting revs/mile only effects the trans shifting points it does not correct for speedo errors.
PGreenSVT is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-04-2013, 09:19 AM
N.S.D.Q.


 
HeavyAssault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 4,870
Thanks: 26
Thanked 93 Times in 82 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGreenSVT View Post
Setting revs/mile only effects the trans shifting points it does not correct for speedo errors.
The newer SCT firmware allows users to adjust the speedo. I'm running 35"s within 1MPH of GPS and roadside radar units. I typically see less than 1% difference in my Trip odometer and GPS trip odometer.

For my SF3 I will see the menu option as I go thru the sequence to load a tune. This "tire rev" option is usually done prior to the sequence that starts loading the tune file.


Officially The Biggest Midget In The Game
(In support of Zmann's request)

HeavyAssault is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-04-2013, 09:24 AM
N.S.D.Q.


 
HeavyAssault's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 4,870
Thanks: 26
Thanked 93 Times in 82 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soledad View Post
By the way, is there a way to adjust the Tire Revs Per Mile without having to reload the Tune again? (I have an SCT SF3) I set my Rev's to a value I calc'd using an online calculator and the speedo is still off. Tonight I'm going to actually measure and then readjust the Revs Per Mile in the SCT again but I wasn't sure if there was a way to do it without reloading the Tune.

Thanks!
You got to have the tire rev measured out first. Make a mark at the 6 o'clock on the tire and extend it to the ground. Allow the truck to roll the tire one complete revolution, mark the ground a second time. Measure the distance in inches. Divide 63360 inches (inches in a mile) by the inches between the two marks. You may find the revs to be closer yet still off. Adjust the tire rev setting 1-2 up/down till it's spot on.

I have done this between the last two sets of tires and always get the speedo within 1 MPH of GPS/ roadside radar units.


Officially The Biggest Midget In The Game
(In support of Zmann's request)

HeavyAssault is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-04-2013, 10:02 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Soledad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Posts: 355
Thanks: 16
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Thanks HA. That's exactly what I did a few days ago. I measured the tire and then did my own calc and came up with 657 which is just one higher than what Hankook posts for their Dynapro ATM at a LT265/70R17. This put me within 1mph of my GPS's and I'm definitely happy with that.

And thanks for the validation that the tire revs change occurs just before "the sequence that starts loading the tune file". I was thinking maybe I missed something somewhere and you could adjust the tire revs without having to go through the whole tune process but alas I guess you can't (which really isn't a big deal anyway).

Now if I could just figure out why it shifts into OD so damned early at light throttle. I don't know if that's a function of the custom tune or yet another changeable parameter in the SCT SF3.

2006 F-350 XLT FX4 SCLB 6.0L | TTY head bolts | stock EGR and cooler | blue spring FP mod | PHP Atlas 40 FICM tune | ScanGauge 2 & GlowShift 3-in-1 gauge (Boost/EGT/FP) | PMM coolant filter kit | Flo~Pro 4" turbo back w/muffler | stock tune
Soledad is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome