Edge Juice w/Attitude as a monitor - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 08-28-2013, 03:49 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Edge Juice w/Attitude as a monitor

I'm a new owner of an 03 F250 6.0 and want to be able to monitor the truck and it just so happened a friend of mine still had this older (2007 model) Edge Juice w/Attitude tuner with a brand new EGT probe which he said I could have because he upgraded to a Banks IQ.

Does anyone know if I can use it strictly to monitor if kept on level 0 (supposedly stock) without worrying about it adversely affecting anything on the truck? I'm planning to buy an Edge Insight CTS but since this is free it'd be nice to know what's going on while I save a few $$$ for the the Insight.


Thanks.
STROKERICE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 08-28-2013, 03:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northeast OK
Posts: 404
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It won't hurt anything used as a monitor. Did he have the egt probe?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2006 White F350 CCLB 2WD




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dowmace is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-28-2013, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep he gave me the probe as well, he never installed it so it's brand new still sealed in the bag. He had used the monitor for 6-12 months before replacing it with the Banks so it's just been sitting in his garage for the past few years.
STROKERICE is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 08-28-2013, 04:33 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
JustinOOO9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Yuba City
Posts: 3,350
Thanks: 124
Thanked 195 Times in 158 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
use it! its free man! and if you leave it at zero your gonna be fine. the edge has some nice feature to use while you got it to.

-2004 F350 CCLB 4x4: Sinister Race solutions kit, CAT ELC Edge CS, SCT SF3, PHP Ficm programmer, Procomp, Rough country, and Nitto goodies.
-2004 excursion, banks exhaust, 03 turbo, aem intake
-2006 f350 king ranch, aem intake, 10 in fabtech, 40in tires, sct tunes,

currently-1999 F250 SBRB 4X4 First 7.3, 6.0 trans cooler made my muffler fall off
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Interested in learning something new?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Justin,
2F071 USAF 2008-2014
JustinOOO9 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-29-2013, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the feedback, I'll be installing it later today.
STROKERICE is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-30-2013, 08:48 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
wngnt954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: God Blessed Texas
Posts: 118
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the same setup running Vivian's Looney and it all works fine!



Sent from AutoGuide.com App


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


The Family Truckster
wngnt954 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-11-2013, 11:06 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well after installing it and turning the truck on it wouldn't turn over so I removed the key and tried again and she fired right up and ran fine (took a few trips around the block to be sure it was working fine). Then a few hours later I went to leave and could not get the truck to turn over, all dash lights would come on but after turning the key to the start position nothing would happen. I tried removing and reinstalling the brain as well as removing and re-seating the plugs on the PCM but the truck would still not turn over, so I removed everything and it fired right up. Has anyone experienced this before or have an idea what was happening...I'm figuring I will just keep it off and go pickup something new like the Insight SCT or Banks IQ?
STROKERICE is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-11-2013, 11:33 AM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17,363
Thanks: 828
Thanked 887 Times in 856 Posts
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Quoted: 1195 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
this is the old style that plugs into the connectors at the PCM not the OBD style correct

these have so many places for error you need to check every pin also it has been mentioned and verified that even on 0 there is some interaction

if it makes you feel better I have a working one sitting in a drawer I couldn't bring myself to sell it to a fellow enthusiast due to the downsides and I didn't want that many wiring reroutes on my truck just for a monitor

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

We Miss you Ronnie
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZMANN is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-12-2013, 11:08 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks ZMANN, that's what I figured...I'll probably give it back or throw it into a drawer as well.
STROKERICE is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-13-2013, 09:05 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Jweber6.0L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I Just took that POS off and put a Livewire on a few months back. It was installed when i bought the truck. From what my mechanic told me because it interrupts signals to operate instead of reprogramming the PCM/ECM, it is aweful for your truck even on stock setting. It was throwing multiple codes with mine and as soon as I took it off they were gone.

STROKERICE: Heed everyone on this site's advice and do your truck a favor with an SCT tuner. Livewire if the wallet allows!

ZMANN: you are right! I cant bring myself to sell this pile of wires to a powerstroke owner. Too much love

Last edited by Jweber6.0L; 09-13-2013 at 09:09 AM.
Jweber6.0L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome