Correct Tire Size Adjustment-Revs Per Mile (RPM) - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2008, 03:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 637
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Correct Tire Size Adjustment-Revs Per Mile (RPM)

All,

If you have 35" tires or bigger I highly recommending you set your RPM's on your tuner in the options screen to match your specific tire size. Your changes will overide what your vendor had put in there.

I have had custom tunes from two different vendors now that set the RPM much less than the actual RPM for my tire size. I told them I have 35'' tires when having my custom tunes built and they we way off.

Once I made the change, I immedieatly noticed better shifting and MUCH quicker downshifting. That dreaded Lag is gone...you know..the one where you slightly give it more throttle and nothing happens...this is seperate from the know turbo lag.

Now while going 40+ MPH and when pressing the pedal it downshifts right away and takes off..! Much improved! If you have that lag also, and have large tires identify what your RPM's is for the tire and get it as close as you can on your tuner. Incriments of 5's is as close as you can get unless you call have your vendor do it. It's much faster just to make the change yourself.

I have Toyo Open Country M/T Tires and mine are 35x12.50x20 which is 592 RPM per Toyo's website. I selected 590 RPM on my tuner and it made a noticable difference.

Here are some other Toyo sizes:

35X12.50R17LT = 596 RPM
35X12.50R18LT = 593 RPM
35X12.50R20LT = 592 RPM
37X14.50R15LT = 566 RPM
37X13.50R17LT = 560 RPM
37X13.50R18LT = 560 RPM
37X13.50R20LT = 560 RPM
37X13.50R22LT = 560 RPM
37X13.50R24LT = 561 RPM
All 38's on 16/17/19/20 inch rims are 550 RPM


If you have a different brand you will most likely have to look up your tire makers website to identify actualy RPM for your brand.


Hope this helps, I just wanted to share what worked for me.


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-2008, 03:15 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
thanks, ill have to refigure mine out and see what i have in there now. although i dont think i can adjust my Rev's per mile myself. ill see if i can have Vivian redo the tunes for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-22-2008, 07:05 PM
Served Our Country!
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think you have to have an XCal 3 to change the tire size yourself. I tried to do it on my XCal 2, and there was no way to do it. I'll get Vivian to change mine when I get a new tune this summer to see if it works.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-23-2008, 03:19 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
Vivian reurned my email and said i am able to adjust it myself. i hope she remembers i have the Xcal2. ill see what i can do tehn if i cant ill ask her to redo a tune for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-23-2008, 02:51 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
so if you have an Xcal2, you are able to change your revs per mile. it is inthe change parameters options before you install the tune. i changed mine but havent driven it yet. ill post again after i drive it to update any noticeable changes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-24-2008, 06:31 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
so i have given it a good amount of drive time since i made the change in the rev per mile. i completely agree with the first post in this thread. up shifting, downshifting, way better. just drives better IMO.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-24-2008, 07:48 PM
Served Our Country!
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rwalker View Post
so i have given it a good amount of drive time since i made the change in the rev per mile. i completely agree with the first post in this thread. up shifting, downshifting, way better. just drives better IMO.
Thanks, Rob, I'm going to try it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-24-2008, 07:50 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
no problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:06 PM
Served Our Country!
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just went out to the truck and changed mine, so I'll let you know how it turned out tomorrow.

:burnout
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:14 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,233
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
its tons better!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors