SCT tunes and Atlas 40 FICM tune - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2013, 12:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 97
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT tunes and Atlas 40 FICM tune

I had my FICM done by Ed and the Atlas 40 installed at the same time. I already had my sct tune (Looney Wild) in the ecm. If I want to go back to stock or change tunes, do I need to do anything to the FICM so I don't lose the Atlas 40 tune?
I know the SCT does not tune the FICM, but does it have any effect on it at all? Do I need to pull the relay for it?

I don't want to lose my tune so I figured I would ask before I have an issue.

Thanks,
Sean
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-16-2013, 12:58 PM
Powerstroke Techie
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,200
Thanks: 52
Thanked 132 Times in 102 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The FICM tune is locked in, you won't lose it when tuning the ECM/TCM with the SCT. You do not need to remove the FICM relay when tuning with the SCT. Your good to go.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-16-2013, 02:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 97
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks!

I was reading in another thread that to tune the FICM one would need to pull the relay and I wanted to make sure I didn't erase anything.

Much appreciated,
Sean
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-16-2013, 02:14 PM
Powerstroke Techie
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,200
Thanks: 52
Thanked 132 Times in 102 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanol View Post
Thanks!

I was reading in another thread that to tune the FICM one would need to pull the relay and I wanted to make sure I didn't erase anything.

Much appreciated,
Sean
Yes, when you tune the FICM, you need to remove the relay. When you tune the PCM/TCM, you don't need to remove any relays.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-16-2013, 02:44 PM
N.S.D.Q.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,718
Thanks: 5
Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Juts a cautionary note about FICM tuners. With your FICM hard tuned with the Atlas 40 do not buy a PHP FICM tuner to try other tuning levels. Seems as the FICM tuner will load other levels but will not let you "go back to stock". Therefore the PHP FICM tuner is locked and cannot be used on another truck if you sell it. Seems it's just the way the tuner worked at the time from my conversation with Bill. Last I knew this issue still exists but Bill might have fixed it by now.

I'm all for PHP products this is just a FYI if you want higher levels on you hard tuned FICM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-17-2013, 09:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: socal
Posts: 264
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Those charts on PHP's website are pretty impressive even for just a ficm tune.It really makes that much of a difference to tune the ficm?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-17-2013, 10:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 190
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrenn View Post
Those charts on PHP's website are pretty impressive even for just a ficm tune.It really makes that much of a difference to tune the ficm?
Over stock, yes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-17-2013, 10:26 AM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cedarville, Ohio
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I had Atlas 40 on my truck before I put the gear head tune on it and it made a noticeable difference. Especially on the low end. Was worth it in my opinion.

My only word of caution is be careful pairing your FICM tune with your SCT tune on a stock truck. It will cause you to get some pretty high EGT. I had this combo before my mods and I believe the high EGT were a major contributor to my ruptured head gaskets. My right foot may have had a little play in it also.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-17-2013, 11:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,296
Thanks: 33
Thanked 53 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aretoo View Post
I had Atlas 40 on my truck before I put the gear head tune on it and it made a noticeable difference. Especially on the low end. Was worth it in my opinion.

My only word of caution is be careful pairing your FICM tune with your SCT tune on a stock truck. It will cause you to get some pretty high EGT. I had this combo before my mods and I believe the high EGT were a major contributor to my ruptured head gaskets. My right foot may have had a little play in it also.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
I could be wrong here.. But I have yet to hear of high EGTs causing head gasket failure.
I have heard of high EGTs warping turbo vanes and causing valve issues.. but not head gasket failure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-17-2013, 12:22 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cedarville, Ohio
Posts: 445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
To be more specific I believe the high EGT and in turn high cylinder temps was one of the leading causes of my heads warping causing my head gaskets to lose their seal. Here is what happened.

I made a run one day where the EGT got in excess of 1500*. It was a long hard run. I started with an aggressive acceleration (not just slamming the pedal to the floor) and held it until about 95 mph. During that time my CTS showed temps in excess of 1500*. The boost never got above 24psi and the "boost gauge" never showed red on the dash. I was running a tune for a non studded truck and Atlas 40. I had been under the hood just a day before and had no puking and no excessive coolant pressure when opened. Approx. 2 days later (normal driving) I opened the hood and found my coolant bottle had puked coolant all over. I did a Blok-Chek and it turned positive immediately. BUSTED!

When I had my truck studded the heads were warped about 8 thousands. Di I think it was just the temps that caused it, No. But I also think that it had a very large part in causing my failure.

NOTE: Just so there is no confusion. I do not hold the tune writer or PHP in any way responsible for my failure. I put them both on my truck knowing that that was a possibility. I have been very happy with both products and now that my truck is studded have them both back on my truck again. I just want to warn people so they do not make the same "mistake" I did. Although I am not sure how much of a mistake it was, I not have a studded truck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors