only chip? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 03-25-2008, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
only chip?

i have a 06 f250 with 6inch and 35s and just got bully dog triple dog. Will it hurt the truck if i dont have exhaust or intake, or can i get away with just the chip. I dont really tow, its just for fun around town.
bstrokin06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-25-2008, 08:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
AYP Tires's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hudson, NY
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You should at least ge an EGT guage installed to monitor you temps and keep it in a somewhat safe range.
AYP Tires is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-25-2008, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
has anybody tried just a chip? does the EGT's get to high? and would just an intake help or do i need exhaust?


it blows good smoke when i get on it, but more is always better or should i say more fun
bstrokin06 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-25-2008, 08:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Raul@Stealth Automotive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 30 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
im with scott.. you need at least a EGT gauge.. but i would just install a full set of gauges because the stock trans gauge is useless and very inaccurate.

your stock intake will flow more than enough air for up to 400rear HP before it becomes too restrictive... so i would go with an exhaust before i did an intake... any 4" TB straight piped will drop your egt's significantly

let us know if you have any other questions
Raul@Stealth Automotive is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-26-2008, 06:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Elkton, Md
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bstrokin06 View Post
has anybody tried just a chip? does the EGT's get to high? and would just an intake help or do i need exhaust?


it blows good smoke when i get on it, but more is always better or should i say more fun
More smoke equals higher egts as well.
Echo is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-26-2008, 07:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

 
bfloyd4445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Drain Oregon
Posts: 2,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 17
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Don't do it without an EGR gauge or your looking at problems that cost big $.
EGT is simple to do it yourself. The reason people add the exhaust and intake is to help lower the EGT with the chip but you can get by without if you have an egt gauge.

Britt

2007 F250 CC SB 4X4, SB, PSD, Lariet, stock
1975 Ford 2000 ROP Diesel tractor < ran without oil for 2/10 mile 7/12/2009> Stills runs as good as ever

"If you don't read the newspaper you are uninformed,
If you do read the newspaper you are misinformed."
-Mark Twain
bfloyd4445 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-26-2008, 07:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Justinlw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Justinlw
I know a few people who run pretty stable egts on a chip with the stock intake, and a home-made cat and muffler delete on their stock exhaust. I would deffinitely spend the money on a 4" turbo back for insurance though. Until then, I'd keep it on the tow setting.

R.I.P.!
2004 King Ranch F250 FX4 6.0L
5" Custom Lift with 325/65R18's on KMC Diesels
Stage 1's by Josh Davis (RCD), FASS 150/95@65psi.
Fuel Cross-Over, OEM FPR Plugged
Outlook Monitor, EGR Delete, Throttle Plate Delete, Banks Monster 4"-5" Tip

Justinlw is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-26-2008, 02:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DoubleDpsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bstrokin06 View Post
Will it hurt the truck if i dont have exhaust or intake, or can i get away with just the chip. I dont really tow, its just for fun around town.
to answer your question, no but it will hurt your transmission.

2003 centennial edition f250 4x4 ccsb auto w/blackwater long block w/arp's, 4" exhaust, airaid intake, ODawg's manifold, itp's reg return, sap modified solenoid, DC power 185amp alt, motorcraft 850cca, Warn Hubs, RS 55w 6k hid's, harley headlights, bpd 58v 6 phase, bpd water pump, dieselsite coolant filter, elc coolant, php gryphon, Xcal2 w/unlimited tow, new hfcm, glowshift fuel psi gauge, icon level kit, 20" kmc hoss, 305/55 terra grapplers TOTALED
DoubleDpsd is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-26-2008, 03:07 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SOUTH New Jersey (there is a difference)
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bstrokin06 View Post
i have a 06 f250 with 6inch and 35s and just got bully dog triple dog. Will it hurt the truck if i dont have exhaust or intake, or can i get away with just the chip. I dont really tow, its just for fun around town.
what's wrong with the exhaust and intake, I know it costs some money, but really... it's totally worth it in the end
oh- and an SCT as well, you don't know power until those three letters are lined up in your alphabet :nate:
06TWO50Diesel is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-26-2008, 03:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I chipped my truck at 50 hp setting and have no problems.I service my transmission
every 30,000 and I have a transmission cooler.I find myself putting less pressure on the
pedal with the chip than in stock mode.I bought it off a guy who had it on f250 and
he got 18-20 mpg driving it normal.He kept his 7.3 to well over 200,000 and just bought
new 6.4 .I asked him how he like it and he said he wanted his old truck back!
stetson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome