What to get next? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2013, 10:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What to get next?

Alright guys, well I graduated highschool a week ago and I've got a little spending money for the truck. What do yall think is the best bang for the buck?....Portedintake manifold, mtw hybrid or stage one, or water/meth injection? I want to lower my egts while towing for sure and possibly gain a little power. I pull 20-24k for my job. What do yall think? Thanks guys!

-Barron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-08-2013, 10:58 AM
BACKYARDIGAN

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
In my opinion, I'd do a ported intake manifold AND a billet wheel for your stock turbo. Pulling that kind of weight, you're not going to want to sacrifice anything on spool up and while the Stage 1 and Hybrid turbos spool just like stock, I think balancing out the airflow to all of the cylinders is going to be better for your motor than cramming more air down a tortuous flow path. From the results that I have seen from a ported intake manifold and our billet wheel for the stock turbo (separately. I can only imagine being together), I think you'll be able to get what you are after. Just my opinion of course. Hope this helps.
Old 06-08-2013, 11:48 AM

In order is do a ported intake, turbo upgrade (a billet wheel for stock turbo it a stage 1) and last a water meth kit. Ported intake will distribute air more evenly, lower egts and add a little HP.
Old 06-08-2013, 12:06 PM

Ok well sounds like I'll go with that route then. Nate, which manifold do you recommend going with? And does your billet wheel require any modifications to fit the stock turbo?
Old 06-08-2013, 12:31 PM
BACKYARDIGAN