AD2 Lift pump - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 09:33 AM Thread Starter
Bump To Pass!!




 
toren302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Monroe, WA
Posts: 10,942
Thanks: 120
Thanked 879 Times in 783 Posts
Mentioned: 114 Post(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
AD2 Lift pump

Sorry to start another AD2 thread... So I just had my first AD2 failure on thursday of the week before last. The "new" pump motor is here and I was wondering somthing. I read almost all of the AD2 threads and know this can be done. I want to use the AD2 to feed my factory pump. I havnet seen any pictures or read how this was done for the people that have done it. It seems like it should be easy. With the AD2 pulling fuel from the tank, then hooking the pressure side of the AD up to the factory feed side of the factory pump. My question is with the return. Can you just use the y-pipe that comes with the AD2 and baypass the return on the factory pump? If that is possible what happens if the AD fails and the factory pump has to do all the work. I kept my factory pump and had to put it in last week to be able to drive the truck, and I dont want to have to have it flatbeded again. By the way the first time mine has ever seen a hook and it wasnt a 6.0 failure. Thanks pure flow. Any help or pics would be great. I plan on doing this this week so I will update and take pics as I go. Hopefully this will work. I dont want a issue again. Sorry if this was redundant thread and if so mods feel free to delete.




toren302 is offline  
post #2 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 04:58 PM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Thanks: 4
Thanked 48 Times in 19 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The AD2 is a POS Pureflow simple as that. That said yes you can configure the AD2 as a lift pump as I have done on my truck. I am feeding a Fuelab high pressure pump but to feed your oem pump all you need to do is run the AD2 feed OUT to the oem IN. Connect the return from the oem pump to the engine side of the AD2 return U pipe. Then drop the fuel pressure on the AD2 to about 12-15psi. I highly recommend you sump your tank to feed the AD2. Good luck bud.
PGreenSVT is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Bump To Pass!!




 
toren302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Monroe, WA
Posts: 10,942
Thanks: 120
Thanked 879 Times in 783 Posts
Mentioned: 114 Post(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Man...It is good to see you typing responses again. How are you feeling? Thanks for the reply by the way I am going to do the hook up tomorow and see how it goes. Hope you get better soon.




toren302 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 08:52 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
onebadcoastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 3,120
Thanks: 48
Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You really should incorporate the return side of the factory pump.

Shack

2016 F-350 CC Dually

2005 F250 CC FX4.SOLD
onebadcoastie is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Bump To Pass!!




 
toren302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Monroe, WA
Posts: 10,942
Thanks: 120
Thanked 879 Times in 783 Posts
Mentioned: 114 Post(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadcoastie View Post
You really should incorporate the return side of the factory pump.
Could you elaborate a little. I thought the return line on the hcfm was a straight through pipe that connects the return of the engine to the tank.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App




toren302 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 09:15 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
onebadcoastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 3,120
Thanks: 48
Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Inside the HFCM is a DTRM (diesel thermo recirculation valve). Basically what happens is fuel is returned from the secondary filter/regulator back to the HFCM. If the fuel being drawn from the tank is cool, then the return fuel is recirculated back through the HFCM to helps heat the cool fuel from the tank. If the fuel from the tank is warm, the return fuel bypasses the HFCM and goes straight back to the tank. The DTRM starts to recirculate fuel back through the HFCM at 80*F and is full open at 50*F.

That's why you want to incorporate it. It serves a particular function and in order to function properly, it needs to be utilized and it's not hard to do.

Shack

2016 F-350 CC Dually

2005 F250 CC FX4.SOLD
onebadcoastie is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 09:32 PM
Premium Member
 
snafu!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 1,469
Thanks: 19
Thanked 50 Times in 43 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Good info Shack, learn something new every day.

On a side note I have been thinking of throwing a 6.4 pump in place of the HFCM to feed the fuelab just to make sure it doesn't fail. Where did you get your 6.4 pump from?

Cameron
2006 F250 Lariat CCSB
Comp Turbo 64/88 compounds
Warren 285/100
ODAWG ported intake
R&R rods, mahle pistons, stage 2 colt cam
Built Trans
Water/Meth
snafu! is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 09:50 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
onebadcoastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 3,120
Thanks: 48
Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's why my plans look like this, utilizing the returns on both pumps:


Shack

2016 F-350 CC Dually

2005 F250 CC FX4.SOLD
onebadcoastie is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 09:51 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
onebadcoastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 3,120
Thanks: 48
Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Snafu, I got my 6.4 from one of the members on here who had a used one laying around he didn't need. The p/n is: 8C3Z-9G282-A. Tousley has them brand new for $300 but you can find them on ebay for far cheaper. I just happened to find one laying around the guy didn't need.

Shack

2016 F-350 CC Dually

2005 F250 CC FX4.SOLD

Last edited by onebadcoastie; 06-02-2013 at 09:59 PM.
onebadcoastie is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-02-2013, 10:00 PM
Premium Member
 
snafu!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 1,469
Thanks: 19
Thanked 50 Times in 43 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I THINK the feulab will be ok with a sump and 10an comming from it but a fuel heater would be a good idea up here.

Cameron
2006 F250 Lariat CCSB
Comp Turbo 64/88 compounds
Warren 285/100
ODAWG ported intake
R&R rods, mahle pistons, stage 2 colt cam
Built Trans
Water/Meth
snafu! is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome