Newbie Tuner Question? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2013, 12:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Newbie Tuner Question?

I recently purchased my first diesel, (05 f 250 crew) I read the sticky that says you should take it back to stock before changing to a different tune. My question is how do I do that if it is just a flash tune, also I don't even know for sure if it has a tune on it, I assume it does because I found a reciept in the glove box, and it has 315/70/17s and the speedo is correct? The truck does have the egr delete and straight exaust, no converter, I don't know about any other mods. Truck is my daily driver and I tow a 35ft camper so I thought a tuner I could switch would be best. What would be the best way to go? Any info would be appreciaated!
Thanks,
Pete
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-25-2013, 04:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: N.C.
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What type of tuner do you have,, I recommend the sct for the 6.0,,,, you don't have to take it back to stock before you change tunes,,, the only time you take it back to stock is if you , change to a different tuner, you can't program a truck with 2 different tuners,, if you ever take it to have it worked on return it to stock, and since you tow, you want to use a tow tune, and not a 120 hp tune, another words don't try and tow that camper with a high hp power tune, you will end up tearing something up, I would tow that with like a 50 to 80 hp tow tune, a tuner is great to have but if you go messing with the setting and don't set it up right, you can run into problems,, I don't tow much so I run a 120 performance tune, and I have the tranny set for firmer shifts, and everything is great with the truck, great mpg as well,,,, I hope this helps you

Last edited by rogerallen33; 05-25-2013 at 05:10 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-25-2013, 05:01 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: N.C.
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ohh if you truck all ready has a tune on it and you bought a tuner to put on it,,,, it won't program it,,,, you will have to take your truck to ford and have a reflash done and then you will be able to tune the truck, once you drive a tuned truck, you really won't ever drive stock again, a lot of times if the truck is already tuned, if you run the dtc's you will get a code,,,, I think it is a p0603code, not sure about that number,, but ,, it will say something like keep alive internal memory (kam) error,, something like that, which all it means is that the truck is tuned

Last edited by rogerallen33; 05-25-2013 at 05:06 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-25-2013, 06:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the reply, I'm not sure of all the lingo, but I think my truck has a flash tune. The main reason I think so is it has 315/70/17's on it and the speedometer is accurate. I will check to see if there are any codes on it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-25-2013, 07:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: N.C.
Posts: 122
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the easiest way for you to find out is ,, if you have a way to read the dtc's, you can also go to a parts store o'reillys , auto zone and have them scan it, if it is tuned, I would have it reflashed by ford back to stock, and then put a new tuner on it, if it's tuned it should though that code, but it doesn't always though it,,, good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-26-2013, 06:37 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a scanner so I will take a look. Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors