Loading ficm tune w/ SCT tune on? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2013, 12:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Humboldt, California
Posts: 2,094
Thanks: 68
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Loading ficm tune w/ SCT tune on?

Gonna load up my atlas 40 and take off the 80, but I've read some people leave the pcm tune on even though the ficm tunes says to take it off. Anyone done it this way or have any input. I'd much rather not have to unload my SCT tune and then loaded it again it its not necessary

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-20-2013, 01:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 680
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've never noticed where it says to disconnect SCT on my PHP FICM tuner so I never have but make sure to remove relay.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-20-2013, 01:50 PM
N.S.D.Q.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,895
Thanks: 5
Thanked 39 Times in 30 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Just follow the PHP directions. No reason to remove SCT tuning to load the FICM tune.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-20-2013, 02:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Winder, Ga.
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 24
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have never unloaded anything on the SCT in order to upload the FICM tunes. Simply remove the relay under the hood and plug it in...

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-20-2013, 02:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Humboldt, California
Posts: 2,094
Thanks: 68
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Sweet. That's all I need to hear. Thanks

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-20-2013, 04:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,435
Thanks: 34
Thanked 73 Times in 55 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know the question is already answered, but they are correct. You can change FICM tunes without setting ECM back to stock first


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-21-2013, 08:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I noticed a difference in the shifting of my spd when I loaded it After an ficm tune. I load it first and then the ficm tune and its noticeably different. Shifts better and power was better. Less smokey also and better mpg. I've done it three times to make sure. Been moving back and forth from the Bay lately. Just my experience with my truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-21-2013, 09:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,435
Thanks: 34
Thanked 73 Times in 55 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleDpsd View Post
I noticed a difference in the shifting of my spd when I loaded it After an ficm tune. I load it first and then the ficm tune and its noticeably different. Shifts better and power was better. Less smokey also and better mpg. I've done it three times to make sure. Been moving back and forth from the Bay lately. Just my experience with my truck.
Not saying that what you say couldn't happen as we have seen some weird things with these trucks; but the FICM and the ECM are tuned completely independently of one another. there is no logical reason that the order that you load the tunes should have an effect on the trans.

Are you loading the tune, driving the truck, then loading the other? Or loading them both simultaneously?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-21-2013, 09:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not trying to steal the thread from Double but my truck also shifts funny after swapping FICM tunes. Almost like I just reloaded a ECM tune and the tranny is going through the relearn process. I'm also running the SPD.

Btw, which FICM tune are you seeing the best mpg out of combined with the SPD? I just leave mine on Hercules.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-21-2013, 10:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Humboldt, California
Posts: 2,094
Thanks: 68
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty_Stroke View Post
Not trying to steal the thread from Double but my truck also shifts funny after swapping FICM tunes. Almost like I just reloaded a ECM tune and the tranny is going through the relearn process. I'm also running the SPD.

Btw, which FICM tune are you seeing the best mpg out of combined with the SPD? I just leave mine on Hercules.
I've run the 40 and the 80 with the SPD, didn't notice much mpg difference between the two. I like the 40 just cause I don't notice much of a difference in power between the two but the 80 will get hotter easier, can't imagine running the Hercules. I am on stock sticks. Derail my own thread here but I thought with larger injectors (or maybe the nozzles technically) ficm tuning isnt really needed because tuners can achieve the same thing in pcm tuning?
Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors