Sct and windows 8 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2013, 05:55 AM
Motor Head.
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 31
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Sct and windows 8

Is anybody using windows 8 with their sct.I downloaded the software,however when I connect the tuner ,the sct updater does not recognize it and keeps saying,to connect the tuner even though it already is connected.I can hear the PC recognize the tuner,when its connected,but the new hardware wizard does not come up.

It works fine for windows XP, anybody have and ideas why the issue with windows 8 or what I am doing wrong?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-03-2013, 06:50 AM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,690
Thanks: 28
Thanked 93 Times in 66 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
You're not doing anything wrong Robert. I don't think it works with Windows 8. I had the same problem with Adrian's tuner and Windows 8. We had to use his old computer for changing files around on his tuner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-03-2013, 06:56 AM
Motor Head.
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 31
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Thanks Nate..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-03-2013, 09:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cape girardeau mo
Posts: 523
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I put new custom tunes on mine and i use windows 8.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-03-2013, 10:08 AM
Motor Head.
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 31
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerstroke 825 View Post
I put new custom tunes on mine and i use windows 8.
The software is on the pc.It just won't show when the tuner is connected .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-03-2013, 02:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cape girardeau mo
Posts: 523
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hmm, I dont know what that would be from? I had it on Windows vista and my mother board on that laptop went out so when i got a new laptop with windows 8 Best Buy moved all my programs from my old comp to this one. Got a new tune sent a couple weeks ago and everything worked as it should! So i do not think your problem is the Windows 8
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-03-2013, 03:16 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Travis Air Force Base
Posts: 1,862
Thanks: 79
Thanked 93 Times in 58 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i had same issue with windows vista.

go to program files and find the sct.exe file in the sct program file and hit properties. find the run as tab and you can run the program like it running on xp.

you'll have to do that one the device manager for the driver for the sct tuner too but it solved my issue on vista.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-03-2013, 03:20 PM
Motor Head.
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 31
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yep had vista,then bought new laptop and they moved the files too and I can see them,as well as the sct software.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-03-2013, 03:23 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Travis Air Force Base
Posts: 1,862
Thanks: 79
Thanked 93 Times in 58 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had a lot of issues and the sct guys had to take remote control of my laptop to fix. just uninstall everything and download the latest software updater from their website.

and try the "run as xp" option on the sct driver and the sct.exe file in program files. Im not the most familier with windows 8....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-03-2013, 03:28 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: shreveport, la.
Posts: 4,159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 105 Times in 90 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bought my wife a new laptop that has windows 8.......I F'N HATE IT!!!!
I havnt tried anything sct with it, just wanted to say how much I hate 8. Did I mention I hate windows 8?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors