Livewire TS help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2013, 05:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Spruce Grove, AB Canada
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Livewire TS help

Hello Everyone,

Yesterday I recieved my new Livewire TS from Vivian. I hooked it up last night and got her the codes she needed to get my custom tunes finished. I loaded one of the canned tunes it came with just for kicks to see how it would go as I wasnt sure how many days before she would email me back. I drove to work this mornin and then home tonight. Tonight was fun as it was warm here today and it got up to temp quick. I was impressed with the power up the hill that normally on stock it downshifts on. The shifting was alot firmer today than normal. Then I punched it on a straightaway. Holy cow. That was fun.

I got home tonight and Vivian had sent my custom tunes. So I just went and mounted the unit, ran the cable, and then went in and loaded her looney tune. I did not return to stock from the canned tune, just went from the canned tune to Looney (just thought of that. That might be my problem). Anyways the truck started fine after the load and then my check engine light came on. So I went to diagnostic mode and found that it said "cylinder 8 glowplug harness". I thought that was odd as it did not come on for the canned tune. I cleared the code, and retried starting the truck. The code came on again. After a third attempt (third time is a charm right?) it did the saem thing, I thought that I would go back to stock and see if that code would come on again. (For some weird reason I had checked for codes prior to loading Looney and there were none). Now it will not return to stock as it cane up with an error saying "battery low, charge and try again". So that it is what I am doing now.

It is late in Florida and I wont get an answer from Vivian till morning when I should be at work, so I am asking you all knowing people if anyone else has had this sort of issue? And I say all knowing because if it wasnt for you all, I would never have figured out how to load the tunes onto the unit in the first place. I have been learning a ton reading lots of threads and opinions so thanx for that.

Oh and for those in Canada, I was quoted $1000 for the Livewire TS by a couple of companies in Alberta, and I was able to get it shipped from Florida for less than $750 duty included.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-27-2013, 06:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: se manitoba
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure about your problems but I'm getting mine through ptcinc.ca out of Winnipeg. The price I was quoted was 550. Best price I've seen and he's local. I can't wait to pick it up next week and have a tuned truck again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-27-2013, 07:06 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Spruce Grove, AB Canada
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So after about an hour on the charger, I was able to return it to stock and the code did not come up. Let it sit on the charger again for another 1/2 hour, then tried to reload Looney. That installed properly, then I let it sit on charger for another 1/2 hour thinking that this truck sucks alot of juice during the programming and maybe thats what triggered the code. Started it up and let it run for 5min and no codes. I took it off the charger now, will let it sit till mornin and see what happens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-27-2013, 07:15 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,729
Thanks: 90
Thanked 188 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Sounds like your batteries or charging system isn't up to standard. Weak batteries will reek havoc on a 6.0.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-27-2013, 07:24 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Spruce Grove, AB Canada
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So I have read. Both batts and the alternator were replaced 2 years ago. I have HID's and I have a feeling they draw a ton during that startup phase when the glow plugs need it.

I will be setting up the monitor tomorrow to try and get a handle on stuff.

Thanx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors