How to delete custom tunes? TSX 8900. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2013, 07:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How to delete custom tunes? TSX 8900.

Looked through the manual...... Google searched for a couple of hours....

But I still can't figure out how to simply delete custom tunes loaded on this tuner . If you have experience and a minute to share the process with me, I'd really appreciate the help.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-26-2013, 09:31 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,971
Thanks: 3
Thanked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Why are you worried about deleting them. If you sell it they are vin locked to your truck and can't be used. If you want to install other tunes on the device just copy over the old tunes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-26-2013, 09:38 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGreenSVT View Post
Why are you worried about deleting them. If you sell it they are vin locked to your truck and can't be used. If you want to install other tunes on the device just copy over the old tunes.
So you aren't sure how to do it either then? Seriously this device is nice but a PITA to work with. Well maybe someone else will know.

PS. Excellent write up in the "Things to consider" thread. That connected a lot of dots for me.

Last edited by managerisk; 03-26-2013 at 09:46 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-27-2013, 01:26 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,971
Thanks: 3
Thanked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Thanks for the props. I have never seen a way to delete a custom tune from the device. I think that is probably because there is no reason to do so as I said above. You still haven't said why it is you want to delete them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-27-2013, 01:46 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGreenSVT View Post
Thanks for the props. I have never seen a way to delete a custom tune from the device. I think that is probably because there is no reason to do so as I said above. You still haven't said why it is you want to delete them.
Not intending to be combative but I don't get your logic. Have you ever deleted a program or picture or document from your phone or computer? It's like you are telling me I need a reason to delete, otherwise just be content filling up the space until it's time to over write the existing files.

Again not trying to be pissy, I just don't get the logic. Good to know though that I can at least do an over-write with out problems. I just rather not have those old tunes on there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-27-2013, 02:23 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,971
Thanks: 3
Thanked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Ok I guess I can live with "because". Never saw the need to delete a tune from my X3 and leave the space blank. It only holds 3 tunes and I carry the 3 tunes I am most likely to run. I have lots of tunes that don't live on my X3 but live on my computers. There they can be deleted or copied as you like. The only option for changing a tune on the device is overwriting. I guess they didn't see a need for a delete either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-27-2013, 04:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGreenSVT View Post
Ok I guess I can live with "because". Never saw the need to delete a tune from my X3 and leave the space blank. It only holds 3 tunes and I carry the 3 tunes I am most likely to run. I have lots of tunes that don't live on my X3 but live on my computers. There they can be deleted or copied as you like. The only option for changing a tune on the device is overwriting. I guess they didn't see a need for a delete either.
Does your X3 ever seem unresponsive? Sorta like there's a gremlin in the system? Kind of like when you have a non-responsive program on a windows machine.

This TSX almost seems like it needs a re-reformat. Delete everything and reload. The tuner has been that way since I bought the truck though so I don't have any other frame of reference. I keep thinking "man for a $1000 this is POS technology". After the latest "canned" tune update from SCTFlash I did last night, I can't even keep my EGR CEL from coming on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors