how do I figure out what chip I have?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2013, 11:54 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how do I figure out what chip I have??

so I bought an 03 f250 and it has a hard wire chip I believe in my fuse box under the dash there is a single wire with a fuse plugged into an auxiliary slot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-2013, 12:17 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Moyock, North Carolina
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 10
Thanked 45 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Is it a 6.0 or a 7.3 liter? If its a 7.3 post this question there...if its a 6.0 they don't have "Chips" they use programmers or tuners most are removable. What you're describing could be banks or older stuff. Or it could be a wire for a display screen that might no longer be there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-06-2013, 12:26 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Round Rock, Tx
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
how do I figure out what chip I have??

Sounds more like an add-a-circuit to the existing fuse box. What else is it connected to? Prob was just a way to provide power to something like gauges, etc.

Amazon Amazon



Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-07-2013, 10:14 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well when I plug it in I can hear my fuel pump get louder and my MPG's will go up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-07-2013, 10:46 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Round Rock, Tx
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
is this a 6.0 or 7.3 2003? they had both. The programmers/chips work completely different. It doesnt sound like any 6.0 programmer I have heard of though. you shouldnt hear a the fuel pump get louder and MPG usually only go up if you can stay off the gas pedal with the xtra power.. can u get pics of what you are talking about?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-07-2013, 06:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is a 6.0 and yeah I can get pics posted tomorrow. It's a 2 amp fuse. I don't know but if its plugged in and I go to start it cold The fuel pump is a lot louder than when it's not plugged in
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-08-2013, 01:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
here is a pic and it was a 3 amp fuse
Attached Thumbnails
how do I figure out what chip I have??-chip.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-08-2013, 02:31 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Carrollton Ohio
Posts: 8,839
Thanks: 65
Thanked 58 Times in 40 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
That is a add-a circuit. I don't know what it is connected to but I doubt that it is a programmer or "chip".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-08-2013, 03:16 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Round Rock, Tx
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
how do I figure out what chip I have??

Yep. Need to trace the wire and see where it goes


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-08-2013, 04:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Think I figured it out... I found a after market fuel water separator and a fuel filter under drivers side
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors