EGR Delete question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 10:07 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
EGR Delete question

Ok here it goes... So im new to the diesel game, still trying to learn my way around the truck. How would I tell if the EGR has already been deleted from the truck, the person I got my truck from told me it was done, but with the exception of the intake nothing under the hood appears to be aftermarket, any help and pictures would be greatly appreciated
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2013, 10:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

if you look at your intake elbow, it connects to your intake manifold. under your intake manifold on the passenger side there will be a pipe that is clearly visible that is square if 05-07 or round if 03-05

that is your EGR cooler. if that pipe is there then you still have your EGR system.
Old 02-26-2013, 10:22 AM

an even easier way to tell (although not completely 100%) is to look at the base of where you put your oil filter. if there is a blue silicone tube approx 2 in long then you will have your OEM EGR as this is an OEM fitting. Most aftermarket kits replace this hose and also use hose clamps which the OEM doesnt use
Old 02-26-2013, 10:23 AM

sweet thanks, ill take a look right now, if the egr is deleted would I have a check engine light or i that something that doesnt cause codes???
Old 02-26-2013, 10:27 AM
Premium Member

Like you said, pictures would be greatly appreciated. However, the EGR cooler is under the right side of the intake manifold. 99% of all deletes remove this. The other 1% uses freeze plugs to cap it. The EGR valve is behind the elbow to the left AS YOU ARE LOOKING AT IT.