Boost gauge flutter - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Linton,IN
Posts: 993
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boost gauge flutter

I installed autometer phantom II's. When I had the factory straight piped exhaust on my truck the boost gauge would go up to 27 lbs. and hold steady when I floored it. Now I've installed 4" tb exhaust straight piped and when I floor it goes up to like 30lbs and the needle flutters doesnt stay still its a 60lb gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-2007, 04:45 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,845
Thanks: 7
Thanked 36 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Do you have it tapped into the MAP line?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-22-2007, 04:51 AM
HardLuck Case of the Year
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Catonsville, MD
Posts: 3,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Ditty Send a message via Yahoo to Ditty
I'm assuming your running a stock turbo. I'm thinking that is Compressor Surge. Also, the stock turbo isn't very efficient at boost pressures over 25-27psi.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-22-2007, 06:23 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,218
Thanks: 13
Thanked 60 Times in 47 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
x2 on suspecting tapped into MAP line. Mine did that too until I tied it into the intake...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-22-2007, 06:31 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SOUTH New Jersey (there is a difference)
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
MAP line will give you the flutters. I'm coming right off the intake. The autometer is about 2 seconds behind the stock gauge on reading speed, but they read the same thing and there is no flutter and haven't had a problem yet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-22-2007, 06:33 AM
HardLuck Case of the Year
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Catonsville, MD
Posts: 3,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Ditty Send a message via Yahoo to Ditty
Mine is in the MAP line and I have never had any flutter...save for surge.

Edit:
YOU KNOW WHAT? I JUST REALISED THIS IS ON A 6.0L. COLOR ME STUPID!!!! LOL

Last edited by Ditty; 11-22-2007 at 06:34 AM. Reason: I'm dumb
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-22-2007, 06:47 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,845
Thanks: 7
Thanked 36 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
I actually contacted ISSPRO a few years ago when I first installed mine and they were aware of the flutter problem but the only fix they said was to move it from the MAP like Shawn & Nate mentioned.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-22-2007, 07:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Elkton, Md
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Congrats Ditty. Oh and what color is stupid by the way?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-22-2007, 04:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Linton,IN
Posts: 993
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I put it into the intake elbow as suggested by diesel manor. Is it possible its the wastegate opening up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-22-2007, 07:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Elkton, Md
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0's dont have a wastegate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors