Understanding injectors.... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 10:24 PM
Serving Our Country!

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Post Understanding injectors....

First off, I want to make it clear that I am by no means an expert in regards to 6.0 Powerstroke injectors but this thread is designed to bring conversation, provide information and to seek out information from those with a broader knowledge base of how the injectors work. All statements made in this thread by me are purely theoretical and I have no real life testing/data to conclusively say anything I saw is definitive or written in stone. This all stemmed from the issues I have been having with my truck and wanting to get to know the intricacies of what I was dealing with. Boy I was not ready for all of that.

Lets start!

6.0 injectors are an HEUI injector. HEUI stands for Hydraulic Electric Unit Injector. They work by utilizing high pressure oil provided by a high pressure oil pump (HPOP) and pressurize the fuel inside the injector. High pressure oil enters the injector body applying pressure to an intensifier piston. That piston pressurizes fuel at a rate of 7 time the oil pressure (approximately 26,000 psi for our trucks). The solenoids on the injectors are controlled via the FICM.

So what so all this mean?

Letís talk about the FICM. Fuel Injection Control Module. A common link to injector failure can be linked to the FICM. Another can be linked to fuel pressure but weíll discuss that later.