Horsepower Question? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2013, 05:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Horsepower Question?

I'm still learning alot about these trucks but I was looking to buy another 6.0. I really want to get a rcsb and make a streetable race truck. I don't know the hp i would need but I'd like to build a mid 11 second truck. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-16-2013, 06:12 PM
BACKYARDIGAN

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
You're probably going to need at least 650hp and probably closer to 700hp but I'm sure there are guys who actually race and can have a better idea of what you'll need.
Old 01-16-2013, 10:21 PM

For some reason I figured it would be some outrageous number and kill my hopes lol. Appreciate the responses tho, 700 doesn't seem that crazy tho.

Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Old 01-17-2013, 04:17 AM
BACKYARDIGAN

I would say that mid to high 600s is relatively straight forward (not going to say it is easy or cheap but is doable) to achieve with all of the advances in aftermarket technology/knowledge for the 6.0.

Aside from the normal bullet proofing modifications to the motor, you're going to need injectors, turbo system (at the very least a big single and possibly compounds), fuel system (this one is debatable on which way to go), and transmission. Then you'll probably need some incidentals like traction bars, LS/locking differential, and tires. I would figure on spending around $15k for all of this. Should make a beast of a truck though, I would think.
Old 01-17-2013, 04:28 AM