SCT Return to Stock - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 07:44 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
TXbroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT Return to Stock

OK, last week I returned my truck to stock, while I was doing so I dropped the programmer and everything seemed ok.

My question is, how do I know I am in stock mode? is there a way to confirm?

Very important as I am about to take truck in for a few maintenece things.

Thanks,

Paul
2005 F250 4X4 CC 6.0 FX4 Lariat
All stock
Lots of Toys, cylinder count is now 31:
TXbroker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 07:51 AM
Vinyl Sticker Guy

 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CDA, ID
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
when you plug the programmer in does it tell you?

Andy is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 07:57 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
TXbroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it gives me all the normal options,
Install another program or return to stock.

I drove 400 miles this weekend with an 800'lb ATV and a 200 lb cooler in the bed and got 16MPG so I believe I am in stock mode, however droping the programer mid program makes me nervous

Paul
2005 F250 4X4 CC 6.0 FX4 Lariat
All stock
Lots of Toys, cylinder count is now 31:
TXbroker is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 07:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
slammedSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vernon, Texas
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to slammedSI Send a message via MSN to slammedSI Send a message via Yahoo to slammedSI
Hey andy,

1. less power, If you where running a power file.
2. It will state that you went to stock. i really cant remember on the xcal what it shows but i thought it says like it was done or somthing. I droped my liveWire on the concrete and it still works LOL there pretty stout. Ha.

-Bobby Crews- AKA Dr. Cookie Cutter!

2012 Ford F150 Ecoboost
-STOCK-

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk View Post
A 7.3 with an edge should never get into a race. Unless it's with a kid on a bicycle.. and the bike has a flat.
slammedSI is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 07:59 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
slammedSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vernon, Texas
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to slammedSI Send a message via MSN to slammedSI Send a message via Yahoo to slammedSI
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXbroker View Post
it gives me all the normal options,
Install another program or return to stock.

I drove 400 miles this weekend with an 800'lb ATV and a 200 lb cooler in the bed and got 16MPG so I believe I am in stock mode, however droping the programer mid program makes me nervous
Oh so it unpluged in the middle of returning to stock?

-Bobby Crews- AKA Dr. Cookie Cutter!

2012 Ford F150 Ecoboost
-STOCK-

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk View Post
A 7.3 with an edge should never get into a race. Unless it's with a kid on a bicycle.. and the bike has a flat.
slammedSI is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 08:00 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
TXbroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by slammedSI View Post
Oh so it unpluged in the middle of returning to stock?
Bingo I do not know how far along it was so I plugged it back in and returned to stock again.

Paul
2005 F250 4X4 CC 6.0 FX4 Lariat
All stock
Lots of Toys, cylinder count is now 31:
TXbroker is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 08:09 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
slammedSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vernon, Texas
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to slammedSI Send a message via MSN to slammedSI Send a message via Yahoo to slammedSI
If its running and feels like its on the stock file again you should be fine. I have herd horror stories about doing that mid file, but i would go into them, for fear of making you worrie about it, when there could be noting at all wrong. I feel if its running and feels stock then dont worrie about it. you should be fine.

-Bobby Crews- AKA Dr. Cookie Cutter!

2012 Ford F150 Ecoboost
-STOCK-

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk View Post
A 7.3 with an edge should never get into a race. Unless it's with a kid on a bicycle.. and the bike has a flat.
slammedSI is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 08:13 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
TXbroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok, back to another question, is there anyway for the dealer to know you had the PCM reflashed from time to time?

Is there a log in the files showing you reprogrammed then retuirned to stock?

Paul
2005 F250 4X4 CC 6.0 FX4 Lariat
All stock
Lots of Toys, cylinder count is now 31:
TXbroker is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 08:31 AM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 
vitalidle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
From what I understand if you take it back to stock and clear all the codes then drive it for so many miles not sure on the milage 100-150 you should be okay. Someone correct me if Im wrong?

2002 F-250 4x4 EC, SRW, SB
Auto 93,000 miles
DP Tuner F5
ATS Compressor and 1.0 Exhaust housing high flow back plate
Turbo Back 4" Silverline Exhaust Mbrp Muffler Delete
Isspro Trans,Pyro,Boost Triple Pod
Fumoto Oil Drain Valve
AIH Delete With Boost Fitting

vitalidle is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 11-05-2007, 09:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
slammedSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vernon, Texas
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to slammedSI Send a message via MSN to slammedSI Send a message via Yahoo to slammedSI
yeah you had it right. Return to stock, unplug the battiers for a little while. and put abotu 250 miles on it. that way it removes the timperary memory.

-Bobby Crews- AKA Dr. Cookie Cutter!

2012 Ford F150 Ecoboost
-STOCK-

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk View Post
A 7.3 with an edge should never get into a race. Unless it's with a kid on a bicycle.. and the bike has a flat.
slammedSI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome