Edge and SCT compatible? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2012, 02:32 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Edge and SCT compatible?

My wife wants to buy me a SCT for Christmas, I currently have a Edge juice with attitude platinum right now. Can I turn the edge to 0 and run the sct without any problems, or should I get rid of the edge all together and buy the sct ts.

Thanks

Sent from my SGH-T889 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-18-2012, 02:33 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
By the way the reason I wanted to keep tje edge was for the guages in case I wasnt clear on that.
Thanks

Sent from my SGH-T889 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-18-2012, 02:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: sacramento
Posts: 2,092
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
i *think* that you can do that. sorry I am no help. I just remember seeing it done with a buddies truck as far as I can remember
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-18-2012, 03:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,751
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
I would probably get rid of the edge all together and get the TS. It will come with tunes, and it does monitoring. It also can accept custom tunes should you feel the need to go that route at some point.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-18-2012, 03:33 PM
Premium Member



 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,645
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I was in the same situation back in September. But after reading about possible problems say if you or someone else accidentally changes the tune while you have a tune loaded from your SCT you can cause BIG problems. The change on the fly can work against you if you bump the wrong button, also you still have to leave the module under your hood and i found several corroded pins that had caused false CEL's. To answer your question yes you can but no you shouldn't. I had to swallow my pride sell my $900.00 edge for $300. and bought the insight and SCT . I know this way i wont have an accident. My only regret is that i bought the SCT that had 3 preprogrammed tunes on it. If i could do it again i would buy the sct w/o any tunes on it and that way i could have had 6 custom tunes loaded on it at once.

Here is a link to the same question last week

Have Edge want sct
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-18-2012, 03:36 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for your reply. I think o saw the sct ts online for 599. I guess ill just sell the edge. Luckily I bought mine used and only paid a few hundred for it.

Sent from my SGH-T889 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-18-2012, 03:43 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,267
Thanks: 18
Thanked 115 Times in 96 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Even on 0 there the edge still has some programming going that will interfere with the SCT programming. So even though you've already come to this conclusion, ditch the edge. If you don't mind buying used, you can get a used SCT for $300 or less, 3 custom tunes for around $100 and then add an edge insight (cs or cts) for monitoring and still be around $600
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-18-2012, 04:59 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Would I be better off buying a regular sct and then some additional monitor or just buying the TS?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-18-2012, 05:20 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,267
Thanks: 18
Thanked 115 Times in 96 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
It depends on what you like better. I like the insight because it's smaller and less "hey look come steal me off of the windshield". I'm not sure about the new sct tuner/gauge units but with the edge you can add on fuel pressure and a whole multitude of gauges, and if you get the cts you can even add a back up cam.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-18-2012, 06:02 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,674
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Don't forget about the monitors like DashBoss for iPad/iTouch/iPhone or the Torque for Android devices. Then If you like the 70's calculator look, then check out ScangaugeII.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors