SCT LIVEWIRE problems? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2007, 10:57 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vernon, Texas
Posts: 3,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to slammedSI Send a message via MSN to slammedSI Send a message via Yahoo to slammedSI
SCT LIVEWIRE problems?

I sold my Xcal (Thanks Doug) and upgraded to the livewire. I wanted to know if there has been anyproblems with this unit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bolton
Posts: 786
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I read somewhere the boost calculator is in kPa instead of psi, and you need some calculator to change it or something. I've never heard anything else. Getting mine soon! Get yourself some hot tunes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-24-2007, 06:42 PM
The Lady Mod


 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 8,511
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Granny
I ain't got one Bobby but I will bump it for you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-25-2007, 01:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Linton,IN
Posts: 995
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I heard they're so big you could use as a hood ornament and still see it lol.I really like the idea of it but I think Im gonna go with the Dash Hawk just because looks so much cleaner.Oh ya another draw back to the livewire is it doesn't shut off when you turn the truck off so you or whoever else drives it has to remember to shut it off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:39 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,797
Thanks: 5
Thanked 23 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redneck47441 View Post
I heard they're so big you could use as a hood ornament and still see it lol.I really like the idea of it but I think Im gonna go with the Dash Hawk just because looks so much cleaner.Oh ya another draw back to the livewire is it doesn't shut off when you turn the truck off so you or whoever else drives it has to remember to shut it off.

I thnk it looks awesome on the dash - but hey each to their own.



It damn sure gets attention, especially from other diesels. They don't want to race you after they see it but hey I guess it saves them the embarrassment.
Out of the box I had an issue with the stock tunes that came with it. Not a big deal since I run custom tunes but SCT didn't have an answer as to why the problem was occurring. They recommend my upgrading the firmware and tune rev but after I did that I couldn't monitor anymore, I just get an error. They recommended I call in to their tech support but I haven't had time. I'll try and do it tomorrow to see what they say.
I THINK my issue may be that I never went in for the recall on my year model. My rig is almost to 60K of problem free azz kicking miles so I don't want anyone touching it. SO, if my running the older flash on my rig affects the SCT canned tunes but not the custom tunes I'm fine with it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:14 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 16,719
Thanks: 13
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
....and you just had to get that Avic pic in there didn't you???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:37 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,797
Thanks: 5
Thanked 23 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Eye View Post
....and you just had to get that Avic pic in there didn't you???
Yup!

Hey it helps set it off. I'll take a new night pic this weekend with a different background, Livewire, Valentine 1, BlackBerry, everything - it not only sounds like a jet it's like sitting in ones ****pit too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-25-2007, 12:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vernon, Texas
Posts: 3,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to slammedSI Send a message via MSN to slammedSI Send a message via Yahoo to slammedSI
Thanks for the help Alan, I was playing with it today. (SCT) freeks. LOL, but everytime i choose the guages to moniter ie the trans temp it says error for that one guage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-26-2007, 03:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,004
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hi Bobby,

That's because there is a communication problem with the software. SCT is working on it but the Livewire does not read transmission temperatures yet.

Thanks,
Vivian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-26-2007, 03:59 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,797
Thanks: 5
Thanked 23 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
You can go to SCT's website and check their forum. They're really burning a lot of bridges right now. If they didn't have the best overall tuner on the market their company would be in the dirt.

SCT Flash Devices - MORE Power . . . Period!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors