Super chips on performance tune? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 10-03-2012, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Super chips on performance tune?

I now have the cat off and EGR spool in. I have a super chips tunner and wondering if the performance tune is a problem with stock gasket's and stock head bolt's? Super chips says not any more of a problem than stock and a couple others said the same, any thoughts because I would like to keep this tune in as I am told I will get the best milage with it and it is more fun.

Also I have an insufficient EGR recirculation code and an insufficient exhaust back pressure code. So far it is running great with no dash light's but the code's are coming up on the tunner when I check code's. The truck is an 04 and I have the EGR valve plugged in setting on top of the motor. Will this be a problem long term? Thanks!
Kviper is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 10-03-2012, 04:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Dirty_Stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The EGR codes will keep showing up until you get a tuner like a SCT that can custom tune and disable it in the ECM. IMHO it shouldn't be a problem to run the Superchip on performance with stock head bolts. I ran one for a while before I got my SCT with no issues.



05 F250 FX4 Lariat, SCT Livewire, 155cc injectors, Gryphon FICM tuner, ARP studs, MTW Stage 2 Turbo, Riff Raff boots, Warren Built trans, PMF traction bars ,4 inch straight pipe, Sinister EGR delete, S&B CAI, N-fab bars, level kit, 5% limo tint, 35 Toyos and 20s, Recon smoked everything, Harley headlights, 5k HID's, Camlocker toolbox, lots more
Dirty_Stroke is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-03-2012, 06:39 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty_Stroke View Post
The EGR codes will keep showing up until you get a tuner like a SCT that can custom tune and disable it in the ECM. IMHO it shouldn't be a problem to run the Superchip on performance with stock head bolts. I ran one for a while before I got my SCT with no issues.
Did the codes cause any issue's or just that they were there?
Kviper is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-03-2012, 06:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Dirty_Stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No they caused no issues at all. And the check engine light wasn't on so it didn't bother me.



05 F250 FX4 Lariat, SCT Livewire, 155cc injectors, Gryphon FICM tuner, ARP studs, MTW Stage 2 Turbo, Riff Raff boots, Warren Built trans, PMF traction bars ,4 inch straight pipe, Sinister EGR delete, S&B CAI, N-fab bars, level kit, 5% limo tint, 35 Toyos and 20s, Recon smoked everything, Harley headlights, 5k HID's, Camlocker toolbox, lots more
Dirty_Stroke is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-04-2012, 04:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I also have a Super chips on my '04 and it is set to performance mode. I welded my EGR cooler shut so the code for EGR flow was already present on my Edge Insight CS. It doesn't show up on my dash so I don't personally worry about it.

I just know the truck runs way better and does get better fuel economy in performance mode. From what I have been told, my head gaskets will be fine (after my EGR solution) unless I dog it way out or have the wonderful oil cooler failure. Both of which are possible regardless of the super chips.
romad99 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-05-2012, 04:35 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds good! Thanks
Kviper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome