Braking options for my 6.0L - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 10:07 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Braking options for my 6.0L

Hey guys, so because this is the 6L performance section i figured id post this here. If this belongs in the general braking thread, lemme know.

Basically as stated in some of my other few threads, Im new to diesel trucks. I bought the truck to mainly tow my R32 to track events and such along with anything i might need it for. Plus ive found trying to move (which i do often) sucks in a little VW.

Pic of R32 for reference.

Although a 3400 lb car plus the weight of the trailer aint nothin to pull, ive found trying to stop on a dime isnt what it is when ur towing. I live in Frederick, MD and frequent in Baltimore or DC traffic. I want to be confident i can stop as quickly as possible if i have to for whatever reason, towing or not.

Comparing the 6L to my R32 prformance wise isnt even close.. so ill try not to haha but im going to. The R32 Calipers are large and all the car needs to stop in normal driving ( non track days ) is rotors, pads and uprated fluid.

This leads me to ask what is available as far as Big Brake Kits/ Larger Calipers and acessories. I am curious if our calipers are good enough and all i would need is a good pad and rotor combo w/ fluid or if a 6 piston caliper and larger rotor would benefit me more?

Also while on XDP.com the other day, I saw exhaust brake options as well. I am not familiar with EXH Brakes whatsoever. However, from what I know of with the Army Trucks i have driven, exhaust brakes dont exactly stop u that quickly.