Sct 3 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2012, 08:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sct 3

Hello everyone, I have been reading a lot about the Sct tuners on this site. I have decided to get one my self. But now I would like to ask Which one is better? This is my Daily driver. Very new to me. It is a 06 Amarillo, Lifted on 37in tires. I was told the the head bolts have been replaced, I can see the Down pipe on the turbo, and It still has the EGR. But was redone, or Fixed. I do not believe it has been deleted. I am useing a Edge cts And all reading are showing great from what i have read on the forms. I haul a 20ft wakeboad boat. And some off road playing. So if anyone has any idea on Which SCT would be better for me, it would be helpful to make my decision. Seeing how it is Friday i will wait until Monday to make a order.

SCT Economizer Fuel Saving Device for 96-08 Ford Gas And Diesel's
[SCT3030]

SCT 3015 96-08 Ford 6.0L Powerstroke and gas powered F-Series trucks Tuner
[SCT3015]

Any if anyone has the best place to purchase one that would be very helpful

Thanks a bunch Steve.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-10-2012, 09:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have no first hand experience with the Econo tune SCT but my vote goes to the SCT 3015 simply because you can custom tune it and have an Econo tune, Performance tune, and Tow tune all in the same device and the ability to change whenever you want.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-10-2012, 10:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have not seen any post on the ecom. Tuner. Thats why i wanted to ask


Sent from my iPhone where spell check hates me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-10-2012, 10:32 AM
The Silent Service

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My advice, go with an SCT SF3 or X3 for your tuning needs, and have custom files written.

You are going to want to verify the status of those head bolts, if they are TTY stockers, or ARP or H11 studs. The tuning for the two varies in power, based on what the heads can hold.

I see the 'economy' marketed files as snake-oil, reason I say that is I find my best economy on my highest HP tune (IDPs - X-Race). Most others here find the same result when the file is driven responsibly. Check my build thread in sig for specifics, but I average 8-10% better on my Street tune and 12-14% on my X-race file. You just have to drive it normally, and not go out roasting the tires.

Any questions, let me know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How would i go about seeimg which head bolts were used. I asked the dealer to ask the old owner to give me a call so i may ask him what has been done. I am already getting ready to flush tje coolent and go to all synthic oil and gear oil. But i was wanting to fid the old owner so i did not end up doing something twice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:40 AM
The Silent Service

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Look at the headbolts from the drivers side. There's a place between the air filter and the motor, that's pretty open. If they look like standard bolts, you're still stock. If they look like a nut and thread, you're studded. If in doubt, take a couple of pics, and we'll let you know for sure.

I keep losing track of the thread that has the pictures I use, else I would post those.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hooper, UT
Posts: 112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The SCT SF3 will come pre-loaded with their standard tunes and allow you to add up to 3 custom tunes if you would like. The SCT X3 is basically a blank tuner that you can have 3 custom tunes downloaded into.

For a daily driver looking for mileage, we've had great results with our custom 80hp Economy file. Let us know if we can help...

Programmers - Tuning - 2003 - 2007 Powerstroke 6.0L - Ford Powerstroke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-10-2012, 12:01 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
If you decide to buy a used SCT, hear is the info to read over.

What to look for when buying used SCT for 6.0



In the pic below, the bolt I'm holding is the stock head bolt, the bolt to the left in the head is a APR stud with nut.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-11-2012, 02:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It looks like i have stock head bolts. I took some pictures. When i get home ill upload to make sure. But untill i get home i i wont be able to post them.


Sent from my iPhone where spell check hates me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-11-2012, 05:45 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightech23435 View Post
It looks like i have stock head bolts. I took some pictures. When i get home ill upload to make sure. But untill i get home i i wont be able to post them.


Sent from my iPhone where spell check hates me.
You can post pics right from your iPhone, here is a "How to".

How to: add pics with iphone with Photobucket
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors