Fuel sump + airdog2? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2012, 04:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel sump + airdog2?

Hey guys! So I just ordered an airdog2 and a no drop sump I'm going to be doing the install on my garage floor most likely at midnight with drunk buddies watching .... Sooo is there any parts/special tools that I should have ready that don't come with the kits? Another question is will i have to drop the tank at some point for this install?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-31-2012, 04:33 PM
N.S.D.Q.

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Middle VA
Posts: 3,927
Thanks: 9
Thanked 40 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
LOL....not dropping the tank could leave drill shavings in the tank. I dropped mine, did the sump, and thought I got all the drill shavings out. NOT....drop the tank and CLEAN it out. Stay sober or face spending more money....$.02
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-31-2012, 04:36 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,674
Thanks: 28
Thanked 91 Times in 65 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I think you will have to drop the tank for the AD2 install if you dont lift the bed up. I don't know for sure though. I know when I installed my AD150 I had to either drop the tank or lift the bed up. A word of wisdom if you drop the tank, make sure you have less than 1/8th of a tank in it, otherwise it will be a pain for you to get back up in there. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-31-2012, 04:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Belview MN
Posts: 1,295
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
YOu dont have to drop the tank or lift the bed for the AD2.. Its a pain in the a$$,, but can be done.. I didnt drop the tank when i installed mine...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-31-2012, 04:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well I would be the sober one doing the work lol ... But the fuel line that comes with the airdog will be fine to go to the sump? I won't have to buy any additional lines or fittings?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-31-2012, 04:46 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,674
Thanks: 28
Thanked 91 Times in 65 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I dont know. It depends what size barbed fitting came with your sump and what size the fuel lines are on the AD2. I know the fuel line on my AD150 is 1/2in ID hose and that is the size of the barbed fitting that came with my sump that I plan to install but I dont want to say that that is how it is for your setup if you know what I mean.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-31-2012, 04:57 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got ya windrunner ... I can't find the sizes on the website so il just wait untill I get them here but the sump is the xdp sump, forgot to put that in the thread ...thanks for the quick responses guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-31-2012, 04:58 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,674
Thanks: 28
Thanked 91 Times in 65 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Ok well I also have an XDP sump so if your hoses are 1/2in, then yes they'll work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-31-2012, 05:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Perfect ! What did you do for a fuel pressure gauge, or plan on doing? I have the edge cts and it looks like its going to be expensive to monitor fuel pressure on that
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-31-2012, 05:19 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,674
Thanks: 28
Thanked 91 Times in 65 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
That is how I monitor my fuel pressure and yes it is expensive but I went ahead and bought two pressure sensors so I could fully use my universal sensor input and I also monitor actual oil pressure. It is worth it to me. JMO.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors