Experienced input needed - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2012, 08:15 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Experienced input needed

OK, so no secret I'm new to the diesel world(hints the name). This is my first diesel and after weeks of reading through threads and threads of information I've deccided to just ask and see what I get.

Im wanting a breakdown of sorts on what mods, ranging from most important to least (or that can wait a bit) that I need to start purchasing. What I have is a 2006 6.0l with 74,000 4" MBRP turbo back and SCT live wire with just the canned tunes. The live wire monitors EGT, EOT, Coolant temp, Boost, and trans temp.

Looking for reliability and of course power, which I assume will come from the custom tunes.

Any input is appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2012, 10:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

I would strongly suggest an EGR delete if your truck doesn't already have one. And do the blue spring upgrade to make sure your fuel pressure isn't dropping and you keep your injectors happy. Flush the coolant system and swap over to CAT ELC coolant while your doing the EGR delete also. Then custom tunes to keep your CEL from coming on and you'll get a good bit more power over the canned tunes. All these are cheap to do and I think you'll enjoy the extra power and reliability.
Old 03-29-2012, 10:42 AM
Serving Our Country!

Well relatively cheap, I will throw in the upgraded stc fitting when you do the EGR delete, and a coolant filter ASAP, I actually have a spare one, it is a PMM coolant filter kit. PM me.
Old 03-29-2012, 10:49 AM

Feedback Score: 1 reviews