REFLASH - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2007, 05:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tipton Indiana
Posts: 320
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
REFLASH

Hi Everyone this may be a dumb question to some but i was wondering if there is a limit to how many times you can reflash (switch tunes) the computer....i switch tunes quite a bit and didnt know if there was a limit...i figured if there was it would be 1000's of times but just wanting to make sure....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-23-2007, 05:30 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
Well, on a busy week I switch in and out of tunes (Xtreme Street/Aggresive Tow) several times with in a week...sometimes once or twice a day depending on my workload or if I plan it out smartly or not.

As far as I know, no...there is no limits...hopefully Eric, Vivian, or one of the other tuners will chime in on this one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-23-2007, 05:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tipton Indiana
Posts: 320
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks....during the week i run dj'S economy tunes and fri when i get home i switch it to street/looney or street so i can play with the other 15 diesels in town....i live in a small small town and theres a bunch of 16 17 year olds with old dodges that like to open there mouth everytime you go by and i just love smoking them!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-23-2007, 05:38 PM
The Lady Mod


 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 8,512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Granny
I would have to agree with I don't think there is a limit or at least one that anyone would reach. I know that "Granny" has had many, many different tune changes. I am sure one of the vendors can give us better answer than "I don't think so". LOL
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You can reflash the computer up to 100,000 times. After that you will need to buy a new computer (PCM).

Thanks,
Vivian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:51 PM
one day at a time

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,454
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
100,000? That ought to do it Vivian! And there really is no such thing as a stupid question around here. Although I'm sure I'm still asking plenty of them... Thats how we learn!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-24-2007, 04:09 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
Wow, there is a limit? Once again (and it wont be the last) I learned something new. 100,000...uh? I should be ok for awhile!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-24-2007, 04:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,034
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
this is prob a dumb question but does just changing from one setting on a chip to another setting (like 80hp to 100hp) reflash the pcm?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-24-2007, 05:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,563
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerstroke W/smoke View Post
this is prob a dumb question but does just changing from one setting on a chip to another setting (like 80hp to 100hp) reflash the pcm?
doubt it .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-25-2007, 09:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,019
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hi,

Actually it does. Every time you change a tune you reflashing the computer. But you will never reach 100,000. Even if you changed tunes 10 times a day for 20 years that would only be 73,000 times.

Thanks,
Vivian

P.S. There are no dumb questions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors