return to stock b4 custom tune? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2012, 02:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.W. Ontario
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
return to stock b4 custom tune?

I finally got around to getting some custom tunes and was wondering if I had to return to stock(im running a canned tune from SCT) before I load the custom tune?

Thanks,
Todd
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-23-2012, 02:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 186
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't believe so. I have switched between different tunes and never returned my truck back to stock before doing so, and I've never had any trouble..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-23-2012, 03:59 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,669
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Just be sure to save your stock tune to your PC before hand, just incase something does go wrong.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-23-2012, 04:47 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Robinson Twp, PA
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 0760rmu927
I always return to stock when switching tunes. Just did it tonight actually. It's mostly a just in case thing. It only takes 10 more minutes to peace of mind


Sent from my iPhone using Autoguide
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-23-2012, 06:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 186
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not to hijack the thread, but, I found the free Sparatan tunes for my strategy and tried to load two different tunes on my truck. Neither time the truck would start. I returned it back to stock hoping I didn't damage anything; still nothing. I reloaded with my custom tune and she started right up. So at this point I think my stock file is trashed some how. Remember you get what you pay for...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-24-2012, 05:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.W. Ontario
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys, I saved my stock file to pc right after I flashed the canned tune. When I did I got a "VIN not correct alpha numeric error". 3 files did transer. flash.lbu, stock.lbu and invalidvin.sul. Anyone have any info on that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
Just be sure to save your stock tune to your PC before hand, just incase something does go wrong.
when did this became possible? I wanted to do this years ago but I believe I was told by a tuner that this wasn't an option. Can i do this using liveload? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-24-2012, 09:03 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,669
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by darsey715 View Post
when did this became possible? I wanted to do this years ago but I believe I was told by a tuner that this wasn't an option. Can i do this using liveload? Thanks
Yes, on Liveload. You will see a option for "Get stock file". This will send a copy of your stock file to your PC. Then if you have issues where the SCT device loses/corrupts the stock file, SCT tech support can send you a recovery file that will allow you to load the stock file form your PC to the SCT device.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-24-2012, 09:05 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,669
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Forgot to mention, check out the "sticky area", Vivian has a explanation of why.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-24-2012, 09:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Glad this is an option finally. Thanks Pooh.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors