Anybody Else Blowing Fuses on their AirDogII? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2012, 08:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anybody Else Blowing Fuses on their AirDogII?

Like the title says....Is this happening to anybody else? It drives me crazy. Most days its fine. Then some days it happens non stop. I have read that it could be the pump????

Some people run Sumps and Upgrade to larger gauge wiring.

The truck doesn't get used that much but when it does its usually cross country.
I am starting to wonder if I made a mistake and should have just kept the stock fuel pump.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-22-2012, 08:37 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,697
Thanks: 29
Thanked 93 Times in 66 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I dont get them because I dont have an Airdog.

Just kidding with ya man. I would recommend calling Airdog and seeing what they say. It is probably the pump though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-23-2012, 06:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by windrunner408 View Post
I dont get them because I dont have an Airdog.

Just kidding with ya man. I would recommend calling Airdog and seeing what they say. It is probably the pump though.
They will tell you "installer error", been down that road, but your not the only one with the issue. Seen them melt the entire harness out of them with ones that have even been professionally installed as well, but it was "installer error."
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-23-2012, 03:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: monett Missouri
Posts: 1,915
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
My buddies 12 valve had this prob and they sent him a new pump. It was a internal deal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They are sending me a new pump. No Questions Asked!!! And I installed it myself....all he needed was proof of purchase....

I started reading into this more. Sounds like a common issue. Not sure why they haven't fixed it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, CT
Posts: 669
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had the same problem, melted my wiring harness. They sent me a new pump and I have yet to install it. I am making my own harness now I am just waiting on my new relay. Airdog sure is a pleasure to deal with though, I wouldn't think twice buying from them again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East tn
Posts: 1,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I haven't had any trouble out of mine so far. I wonder if maybe drawing uphill and having smaller guage wiring is causing some folks issues. I thought the harness looked awful small for the size of pump, but the amp ratings on the pump are within the wiring size load limits.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Humboldt, California
Posts: 2,171
Thanks: 125
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Are you guys running it off the draw tube or a sump?

Sent from my HTC Hero S
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-27-2012, 06:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East tn
Posts: 1,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
mine draws from a sump.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-27-2012, 07:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, CT
Posts: 669
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Im pulling from the stock pickup but will be installing a sump with the new pump. Whos sump is everyone running?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors