this might be a stupid question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2012, 05:53 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
this might be a stupid question

Hey guys, ive been doing tonnes of reading on here, and ive started upgrading my 03 6.0, so far I have a 4inch turbo back straight pipe, Afe stage 2 cold air, afe bladerunner intake elbow, zoodad mod, 4inch procomp lift, hancook dynapro 37s...

when i bought the truck the guy i bought it off of said the dealer did all the recalls and replaced the headstuds. so, i called the dealership and sure enough they told me this was true. however they couldnt tell me if the replacement "head studs" were just more of the crap ford headbolts or if they were studs or what. does anyone know what ford used on the factory recalls, if they were any good? and how i can findout without taking this pig apart?

thanks guys,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-2012, 05:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 560
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
pop the hood and look right under valve cover you can see if you have bolts or studs its easier to see on pass side
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:03 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,653
Thanks: 28
Thanked 88 Times in 62 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Well first of all there is no such thing as a stupid question. Only stupid people. J/K man.

On to your question. As far as I know, the dealer WILL NOT replace their head bolts with ARP or H11 head studs on their own accord. They will install them if provided for by the customer.

The best way to know if you have head studs is look at the passenger side head and see if the nut is a 12pt or 6pt nut. If it is 6pt then you have factory head bolts and not head studs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
awsome, thanks guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:09 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,670
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Here is some pics of what the head studs look like.
Can you tell if your studs are done from the outside
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
awsome thanks guys, i forgot to mention in my first post im running a superchips max micro tuner on high performance tune.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: IOWA
Posts: 2,542
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to 2003kingranch
stud

ford bolt
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok so if they actually replaced the bolts, they just used more bolts.. great
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: IOWA
Posts: 2,542
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to 2003kingranch
yes unless the po had them put studs in it. my local ford will not put in factory bolts. either your buying studs or they dont want to do it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:09 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 180
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2003kingranch View Post
yes unless the po had them put studs in it. my local ford will not put in factory bolts. either your buying studs or they dont want to do it.
Sounds like a dealership with a conscience.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors